News Ticker

The chronicle of the family of Hessel from Kreuznach 1686-1886

image-14399
The family is one of the Hessel Lutheran families of the place Kreuznach. The investigation into the church records show the following facts on:
for the first time the name appears in Hessel 1689, with the person being baptized Johann Christoph Hessel, son of the hoof- armourer and Johann Philipp Hessel. In 1692 is the death of a six-year-old daughter reported. 1696 Ottilia Anna is the daughter of Johann Philipp listed as a confirmed girl.

Johann Christoph, the true patriarch of all living Hessel is regarded as the progenitor. He was 1725 born, learned the art of baking and brewing, and later became an innkeeper in “Güldne eagle”. Christopher died 1803. He is described as a humble and honorable man from his second wife, a mayor's daughter from Worms. The first wife, Magdalena Bieber was the mother of his 9 Children, three of whom died young.

The progeny of the other six (Maria Theresia, Philip, Rosine, John, James and Bartholomew) is so numerous, that were created in this chronicle of six particular tables. The above-mentioned Philip was also a brewer and landlord. John learned the mercantile community and went to Frankfurt. James was an innkeeper in “German House” near the egg market.

Those:

Hessel, Henry Charles Daniel Bartholomew: The chronicle of the family of Hessel from Kreuznach 1686-1886, a manuscript printed Bonn 1886

 

%d bloggers like this:

News Ticker

Die Chronik der Familie Hessel aus Kreuznach von 1686-1886

Die Familie Hessel zählt zu den Lutherischen Familien des Ortes Kreuznach. Die Nachforschungen in den Kirchenbüchern zeigen nachfolgenden Sachverhalt auf:
zum ersten Mal erscheint der Name Hessel im Jahre 1689, mit dem Täufling Johann Christoph Hessel, als Sohn des Huf- und Waffenschmiedes Johann Philipp Hessel. Im Jahre 1692 ist der Tod einer sechsjährigen Tochter verzeichnet. 1696 wird Anna Ottilia als Tochter des Johann Philipp als Konfirmandin aufgeführt.

Johann Christoph, der eigentliche Patriarch für alle noch lebenden Hessel gilt als Stammvater. Er wurde 1725 geboren, lernte das Bäckerhandwerk und die Bierbrauerei und wurde später Gastwirt im “Güldne Adler”. Christoph starb 1803. Er wird als bescheidener und ehrenwerter Mann beschrieben von seiner zweiten Ehefrau, einer Schultheißentochter aus Worms. Die erste Gattin, Magdalena Bieber war die Mutter seiner 9 Kinder, von denen drei jung verstarben.

Die Nachkommenschaft der anderen sechs (Maria Theresia, Philipp, Rosine, Johannes, Jakob und Bartholomäus) ist so zahlreich, dass in dieser Chronik sechs besondere Tabellen angelegt wurden. Der eben erwähnte Philipp wurde ebenfalls Bierbrauer und Wirt. Johannes erlernte die Kaufmannschaft und ging nach Frankfurt. Jakob wurde Gastwirt im “Deutschen Haus” in der Nähe des Eiermarktes.

Quelle:

Hessel, Heinrich Karl Daniel Bartholomäus: Die Chronik der Familie Hessel aus Kreuznach von 1686-1886, als Manuskript gedruckt Bonn 1886