Biographies, Digital Library, Country's history

Nicholas Henel of Henn field Silesiographia – Breslo-Graphia Frankfurt am Main 1613

Silesiographia

Over the life of Nicholas Henel (Henn later field) enough is known, that creates a vivid picture of his personality. Nicholas was born on Henel 11. January 1582 Neustadt O / S. His father was a master Stephan Henel. He had studied in Breslau and Wittenberg theology and was pastor of Freudenthal, Neustadt, Rüger village and eventually become Ditmannsdorf.

Henels mother Anna nee Kuehne, was the daughter of the town clerk of Neustadt. Henel came from the educated middle of Silesia. Accordingly, the father stayed on the education of her son Nicholas: he visited the Elizabeth High School in Breslau, when he was a student at the Latin School in Neustadt previously. The Easter Fair 1600 he traveled to Jena, where he enrolled as a student of law and philosophy. He then studied at the University of Basel, where he became well Dr.jur.utr. Ph.D..

From his first marriage he 1619 Anna Partisch or Bartsch, the daughter of the beer drop-in Wroclaw Einnehmers closed, came from three children (Son Christian survived the parents) 1641 his wife died and he married 1643 Gwendolyn Jessensky of Great Jessen, the daughter of the moneyer in Vienna, which had been adopted by Wenzel Aich Heuser Leonhart joke. From this union was born a daughter. Henel himself died on 23. July 1656 Wroclaw.

Henel comes in addition to his achievements as a high government official to the cultural and political merit, over to the collections of Thomas Rehdinger legally the city to have. The comparison for the library to St Rehdigerschen. Elizabeth was born on 17. March 1645 issued and the contract put this Henel.

The fame of meritorious scholars planted himself in the “Early Modern”, in which it is mainly due to the “innovatio for traditionem” arrived, from generation to generation on and so it is natural, that even 1735, just 80 Years after Nicolaus Henel Henn field of death, the “Big full Universallexikon” Zedler also from him a brief, but quite informative article contains.

Whose most important sentence reads: “He is the first, has done in the Silesian History something Cardinal”. This naming foreshadows, with a personality that he was honored, that even a long time after his death has not lost some important.

His fame, however, touched her not only from his writings, but equally from his diplomatic activities, whose successes made him famous in his own lifetime. This edition is a venture undertaken, Henel appreciate by Henn field as prominent representatives of the late humanism in Silesia and him to a wider public.

Those:

Detlef Haberland: Nicolaus Henel field of Henn: Silesiographia und Breslo-Graphia Frankfurt am Main 1613, E-Reprint, Wroclaw: 2011, ISBN 978-83-910595-2-4

News Ticker

Nicolaus Henel von Hennenfeld Silesiographia – Breslo-Graphia Frankfurt am Main 1613

Über das Leben von Nicolaus Henel (später Hennenfeld) ist genügend bekannt, dass ein plastisches Bild seiner Persönlichkeit entsteht.

Geboren wurde Nicolaus Henel am 11. Januar 1582 in Neustadt O/S. Sein Vater war Magister Stephan Henel. Er hatte in Breslau und Wittenberg Theologie studiert und war Pastor in Freudenthal, Neustadt, Rügersdorf und schließlich in Ditmannsdorf geworden.

Henels Mutter Anna eine geborene Kühne, war die Tochter des Stadtschreibers von Neustadt. Henel stammte aus dem gebildeten Bürgertum Schlesiens. Dementsprechend achtete der Vater auf die Ausbildung des Sohnes Nicolaus: dieser besuchte das Elisabethgymnasium in Breslau, nachdem er zuvor Schüler der Lateinschule in Neustadt war. Zur Ostermesse 1600 reiste er nach Jena, wo er sich als Student der Jurisprudenz und Philosophie einschrieb. Anschließend studierte er an der Universität Basel, wo er auch zum Dr.jur.utr. promovierte.

Aus seiner ersten Ehe die er 1619 mit Anna Partisch oder Bartsch, der Tochter des Biergefälle-Einnehmers in Breslau schloss, entstammten drei Kinder (Sohn Christian überlebte die Eltern) 1641 starb seine Frau und er heiratete 1643 Kunigunde Jessensky von Groß Jessen, die Tochter des Münzmeisters in Wien, die von Wenzel Aichheuser von Leonhartwitz adoptiert worden war. Aus dieser Ehe stammte eine Tochter. Henel selbst starb am 23. Juli 1656 in Breslau.

Henel kommt neben seinen Leistungen als hoher Verwaltungsbeamter das kulturpolitische Verdienst zu, die Sammlungen von Thomas Rehdinger juristisch der Stadt überantwortet zu haben. Der Vergleich wegen der Rehdigerschen Bibliothek zu St. Elisabeth wurde am 17. März 1645 ausgefertigt und den Vertrag hierzu formulierte Henel.

Der Ruhm verdienstvoller Gelehrter pflanzte sich in der “Frühen Neuzeit”, in der es vor allem auf die “innovatio per traditionem” ankam, von Generation zu Generation fort und so ist es selbstverständlich, dass noch 1735, knapp 80 Jahre nach Nicolaus Henel von Hennenfelds Tod, das “Grosse vollständige Universal Lexikon” von Zedler auch zu ihm einen knappen, aber durchaus informativen Artikel enthält.

Dessen wichtigster Satz lautet: “Er ist der erste, der in der Schlesischen Historie etwas Hauptsächliches getan hat”. Diese Benennung lässt ahnen, dass mit ihm eine Persönlichkeit gewürdigt wurde, die auch noch lange Zeit nach seinem Tod keineswegs etwas an Bedeutung eingebüßt hat.

Sein Nachruhm rührt jedoch nicht allein aus seinen Schriften her, sondern gleichermaßen aus seinen diplomatischen Tätigkeiten, deren Erfolge ihn schon zu Lebzeiten bekannt machten. Mit dieser Edition wird ein Vorstoß unternommen, Henel von Hennenfeld als prominenten Vertreter des Späthumanismus in Schlesien zu würdigen und ihn einer breiten Öffentlichkeit vorzustellen.

Quelle:

Detlef Haberland: Nicolaus Henel von Hennenfeld: Silesiographia und Breslo-Graphia Frankfurt am Main 1613, E-Reprint, Wroclaw: 2011, ISBN 978-83-910595-2-4

%d Bloggern gefällt das: