Family history of the Mark

The Counts of the Mark emerged from the old Westphalian Counts of Berg. The elder son of Count Adolf von Berg (1140-1170) Eberhard I. Count of Berg, has been called 1161 Altena Castle acquired after the “Count of Altena”.

His younger brother Engelbert inherited the name and county mountain on his descendants, the already extinct with his granddaughter Irmgard. Through them, the county became part of the mountain house of the Dukes of Limpur, which from then on at the same time also called Count of Berg.

Eberhard of the 1. Counts of Altena bought the younger sons, Frederick I. Graf von Altena ca. 1180 of Rabodo of Rudenberg the rule and the castle Marck, united to other goods and formed from the County of Mark. His son, Adolf I. Count of Altena began since 1202 take turns to write and Earl of the March and was eventually to 1245 Altena entirely on the name. His descendants, Counts of the Mark now took a new (the probable coat of arms of County of Mark) an, the oldest rider on a figure of Adolf I. Siegel. 1226 is found.

The coat of arms

The shield shows here a bar geschachteten, grows out of which a half-lion. Very soon, this half-lion disappears from the plate, because of the Seal of Mark Dietrich 1391 and 1400, the nephew of Count Dietrich 1398, then of Engelbrecht II. by Mark, Lord of Loverval no longer show all the lions, as well as those of the descendants of Count Adolf II. by Mark. In the younger branches of the house there was Mark regarding the arms quite arbitrary. Soon the sign out with a chess bar and growing lion.

Similarly, varying the crest of the coat of arms. The above named Dietrich (1391) resulted in his seal two horns, his nephew Dietrich, an open air. Engelbert II. introduced as an ornamental helmet Ochsenkopf, John I. 1394 two horns. Eberhard IV. Count of the Mark and Arenberg (1517) contributed to the crowned helmet a whole lion between the horns. When Mark Rochefort line, we find 1521 as a crest, a crowned ox head, the line mark-Lummen 1628 and 1640 an equally complicated and between its horns still growing a little lion, that is, two crests above the other. From this generation emerged a number of illegitimate branches, Almost all of the old coat of arms served by Mark.

The family of Mark Hamm

Already in the time 1406-1444 a steward of the Mark Engelbrecht, Hamm noted. This was one of the most respected people. Then, Evert documented (Eberhard) the 7. Child of Heinrich von der Mark, Drost of sword, Noble as the country marks the 1538 the contract agreement signed with funds, called. Evert and his wife became the father of their origin we know nothing, a son named Henry. The descendants of this Johann Heinrich can the Bailiff, who had taken office 1643 held, have come to Hamm. Are recorded in documents in Hamm: 1650 Peter von der Mark, 1675 Berendt of the Mark, 1669 Johann Dietrich (Provisor the big church) 1725 Johann Dietrich Camerarius, 1725 Johann Friedrich, Dr. med and garrison physician. The family of Mark died 1742 from. (Married after flag 1743 Henriette Louise Catherine Ferdinand Friedrich von Elberfeld of Herbur

Hohenzollern branch

The children of King Frederick William II. Countess of Lichfield and his lover were the nobility and the name of Count of the Mark 1794. The young Earl Alexander died very early (1.8.1787) His grave monument is created by Schadow in Berlin. Married Count Gustav Adolf von Ingenheim on 23. More 1826 Constance Eugenie Pink, Thiery born Countess von der Mark *24.11.1808, a daughter of Countess Marianne von der Mark, Daughter of King Friedrich Wilhelm II. and the Lichfield. First she married a Count of Stolberg, Then a Pole, last a Frenchman. (From the Papers of the Mayor Volkmann Hilchenbach)

According to a newspaper report “An extinct branch of the Hohenzollern” It was said in the newspaper Siegen: The King Friedrich Wilhelm II. of Prussia, the progenitor of the whole Prussian royal family, three children had secondary compounds. The Countess gave him two Lichfield. The Miss Julie Voss was the ancestress of the Earls of Ingenheim. From the Countess Doenhoff descended the Counts of Brandenburg. Julie von Voss, died on 25.3.1789, Doenhoff in the 1834 (66J.) The three sons of the Count of Brandenburg, from his marriage to Matilda of Massenbach died as a bachelor. Countess Julie married 1816 the Duke of Anhalt-and became a Catholic through the influence of the Jesuits.

Bastards of the Mark

1477 is John of Cleves, Son of Adolf of Cleves and the Mark, Lord of Ravenstein and Margaret van Hürne, called the Bastard of Ravenstein, Governor von Wynendale + 1504. His widow, Joan of Lichterfelde +1547 married II. Charles of Bailleul, and III. William of Huele. Philip of Cleves had and the Mark with a daughter Margaret Brant Florence by Ravenstein + 1532, likewise with a daughter Margaret Joan Willems of an Adolf Mevert 1546 married, nachddem they 1527 by Charles V. was legitimized. With Pasquine by Mark Philip had a son, Charles the V. legitimized as Hector of Cleves and the Mark. This Wilhelmine married and had two children by moulde.

Pedigrees


Those:

Jost, Henry e. Walther: History of the family of the Mar(c)k coming in from Hamm, 1406-1925, Dusseldorf 1925 (Online-Version)

Literature:

VD17: Kurtze Genealogical Deduction, from the Count of La Marck Wolgebornen and Manderscheidt, Mr. Frey to Lümen and Serain

Comments are closed.

Geschichte der Familie von der Mark

Die Grafen von der Mark gingen aus den alten westfälischen Grafen von Berg hervor. Der ältere Sohn des Grafen Adolf von Berg (1140-1170) Eberhard I. Graf von Berg, nannte sich seit 1161 nach dem erworbenen Schloss Altena “Graf von Altena”.

Sein jüngerer Bruder Engelbert vererbte den Namen und die Grafschaft Berg auf seine Nachkommen, die aber bereits mit seiner Enkelin Irmgard ausstarben. Durch sie fiel die Grafschaft Berg an das Haus der Herzöge von Limpur, die sich von da ab zugleich auch Grafen von Berg nannten.

Von Eberhards des 1. Grafen von Altena Söhnen kaufte der jüngere, Friedrich I. Graf von Altena ca. 1180 von Rabodo von Rudenberg die Herrschaft und das Schloss Marck, vereinigte damit noch andere Güter und bildete daraus die Grafschaft Mark. Sein Sohn Adolf I. Graf von Altena begann seit 1202 sich abwechselnd auch Graf von der Mark zu schreiben und gab schließlich um 1245 den Namen Altena ganz auf. Seine Nachkommen, nunmehr Grafen von der Mark nahmen ein neues (das wahrscheinliche Wappen der Grafschaft Mark) an, dessen älteste Abbildung auf einem Reitersiegel von Adolf I. 1226 zu finden ist.

Das Wappen

Der Schild zeigt hier einen geschachteten Balken, aus welchem ein halber Löwe hervorwächst. Sehr bald verschwindet dieser halbe Löwe wieder aus dem Schild, denn Siegel von Dietrich von der Mark 1391 und 1400, die des Neffen Graf Dietrich 1398, dann von Engelbrecht II. von der Mark, Herrn auf Loverval zeigen alle den Löwen nicht mehr, ebenso wie diejenigen der Nachkommen des Grafen Adolf II. von der Mark. In den jüngeren Linien des Hauses Mark herrschte bezüglich der Wappen eine ziemliche Willkür. Bald wurde der Schild nur mit einem Schachbalken und wachsenden Löwen geführt.

Ebenso variiert die Helmzier des Wappens. Der oben genannte Dietrich (1391) führte in seinem Siegel zwei Hörner, dessen Neffe Dietrich einen offenen Flug. Engelbert II. führte als helmzier einen Ochsenkopf, Johann I. 1394 zwei Hörner. Eberhard IV. Graf von der Mark und zu Arenberg (1517) trug auf dem gekrönten Helm einen ganzen Löwen zwischen den Hörnern. Bei der Mark-Rochefort Linie finden wir 1521 als Helmzier einen gekrönten Ochsenkopf, bei der Linie Mark-Lummen 1628 und 1640 einen ebensolchen und zwischen dessen Hörnern noch einen kleinen wachsenden Löwen, also zwei Helmzierden übereinander. Aus diesem Geschlecht ging eine ganze Reihe illegitimer Zweige hervor, die sich fast alle des alten Wappens von der Mark bedienten.

Die Familie von der Mark in Hamm

Bereits in der Zeit 1406-1444 wird ein Amtmann Engelbrecht von der Mark in Hamm erwähnt. Dieser gehörte zu den angesehensten Leuten. Dann wird urkundlich Evert (Eberhard) das 7. Kind des Heinrich von der Mark, Drost von Schwerte, der als Edler des Landes Mark 1538 den Einigungsvertrag mit Geldern unterschrieb, genannt. Evert zeugte mit seiner Frau von deren Herkunft man nichts weiß, einen Sohn mit Namen Heinrich. Die Nachkommen dieses Heinrich können durch den Drosten Johann, der sein Amt noch 1643 bekleidete, nach Hamm gekommen sein. Urkundlich in Hamm sind verzeichnet: 1650 Peter von der Mark, 1675 Berendt von der Mark, 1669 Johann Dietrich (Provisor der großen Kirche) 1725 Johann Dietrich Camerarius, 1725 Johann Friedrich, Dr. med und Garnisonsarzt. Die Familie von der Mark starb 1742 aus. (Nach Fahne heiratete 1743 Henriette Louise Catharine den Ferdinand Friedrich von Elbersfeld von Herbur

Hohenzollern-Zweig

Die Kinder König Friedrich Wilhelms II. und seiner Geliebten der Gräfin Lichtenau erhielten den Adel und den Namen Graf von der Mark 1794. Der junge Graf Alexander starb schon sehr früh (1.8.1787) Sein von Schadow geschaffenes Grabdenkmal steht in Berlin. Graf Gustav Adolf von Ingenheim heiratete am 23. Mai 1826 Eugenie Konstanze Rosa, geborene Gräfin Thiery von der Mark *24.11.1808, eine Tochter der Gräfin Marianne von der Mark, Tochter des Königs Friedrich Wilhelm II. und der Lichtenau. Zuerst heiratete sie einen Grafen von Stolberg, dann einen Polen, zuletzt einen Franzosen. (Aus den Papieren des Bürgermeisters Volkmann zu Hilchenbach)

Nach einer Zeitungsnotiz “Ein erloschener Hohenzollern-Zweig” in der Siegener Zeitung hieß es: Der König Friedrich Wilhelm II. von Preußen, der Stammvater des gesamten preußischen Königshauses, hatte aus drei Nebenverbindungen Kinder. Die Gräfin Lichtenau schenkte ihm zwei. Das Fräulein Julie von Voß wurde die Ahnmutter der Grafen von Ingenheim. Von der Gräfin Dönhoff stammen die Grafen von Brandenburg ab. Julie von Voß starb am 25.3.1789, die Dönhoff im Jahre 1834 (66J.) Die drei Söhne des Grafen von Brandenburg aus der Ehe mit Mathilde von Massenbach starben als Junggesellen. Gräfin Julie heiratete 1816 den Herzog von Anhalt-Köthen und wurde durch den Einfluss der Jesuiten katholisch.

Bastarde von der Mark

1477 wird Johann von Kleve, Sohn Adolfs von Kleve und von der Mark, Herr auf Ravenstein und der Margarethe van Huerne, genannt Bastard von Ravenstein, Gouverneur von Wynendale + 1504. Seine Witwe, Johanna von Lichterfelde +1547 heiratet II. Karl von Bailleul und III. Wilhelm von Huele. Philipp von Kleve und von der Mark hatte mit Margarethe Brant eine Tochter Florence von Ravenstein + 1532, desgleichen mit Johanna Willems eine Tochter Margarethe die einen Adolf von Mevert 1546 heiratete, nachddem sie 1527 durch Karl V. legitimiert war. Mit Pasquine von der Mark hatte Philipp einen Sohn, den Karl V. legitimierte als Hektor von Kleve und von der Mark. Dieser ehelichte Wilhelmine von Moulde und hatte zwei Kinder.

Ahnentafeln


Quelle:

Jost, Heinrich E. Walther: Geschichte der Familie von der Mar(c)k aus Hamm in Westfalen stammend 1406-1925, Düsseldorf 1925 (Online-Version)

Literatur:

VD17: Kurtze Genealogische Deduction, daraus des Wolgebornen Herrn Grafen zu der Marck und Manderscheidt, Freyherrn zu Lümen und Serain

Keine Kommentare möglich.