Bishop D. Emil Albert Karow

Emil Albert Karow was 1871 Born in Prenzlau, the son of Johann and Wilhelmine Henriette Karow Trebbin. The Karows from Uckermark were a rural race, that's been resident at Lützlow Prenzlau. One of the newest members of the family moved into the city from operating in Prenzlau 1869 a bakery and restaurant. (Naturalization in the Prenzlau 07.09.1867) This was the father of Emil Karow.

Emil studied in Tübingen, Halle and Berlin, and was on 12. November 1899 ordained. At the 2.10.1900 He married Margaret (Grete) Agathe Martha Liesegang (1872-1943) a daughter of the pastor Liesegang Perleberg and his wife Elisabeth Julie Abbot. From this marriage four daughters and a son. The entire lineage can be tracked in the database.

Data from the time 1921 to 1937

1921: Appointed Member of the Evangelical Supreme Ecclesiastical Council (ETUC) with the title Oberkonsistorialrat

1926: Awarded the honorary Doctor of Theology Faculty of the University of Halle-Wittenberg (Therefore "D" before the name)

1928: Appointment as general superintendent (GS) by the Senate of Berlin church

1933

June: Speaker of the GS of the Evangelical Church of the Prussian Union

28. June: Leave by Reichskommissar hunters after a meeting with all GS. (This session was Karow spokesman GS.

12. July: Appointment of Pfr. Otto Eckert (Zossen) (s.u.) as successor to the grounds of age who retired GS dealer and conferral of the business of the interim commissioner GS Berlin Country.

19. July: Cancellation of leave of GS Karow by EOK: (Protestant Oberkirchenrat)

Quote from the letter to D. Karow: "To achieve that achieved by the resolution of the conflict between church and state pacification expressed, …., is the leave your reverence lifted. ….“

10. August: "Decree" to merge the GSuren Berlin City and Berlin-country.

The diocese is united by GS Berlin City (d.h. D. Karow) managed. This leads the grade of GS Berlin.

Doing so will invalidate the on 12. July contract awarded to Pfr. The. Eckert. (This must also be the official car (Mercedes Benz) an D. Karow return.)

6. September: Church Law on the Establishment of the State of dioceses and episcopal office

(Was on 20. November 1934 of Reich Bishop (RB) The. Muller canceled, with the proviso, that the earlier right again enters into force. (The Confessing Church (B. K.) was opposed to the introduction of the episcopate, because this was not considered Protestant.))

12. September: Displacement of GS Vits (Neumark and Niederlausitz) Dibelius and (Kurmark) into retirement

16. September: EOK on behalf of the D. Karow to undertake the business of the former GSuren Neumark and Niederlausitz (GS Vits) and Kurmark (GS Dibelius). To his (Karows) Support is Pfr. The. Eckert ordered.

12. October: Return of the displaced office crosses into retirement GS Dealer, Vits and Dibelius (by Letter)

01. November: Appointment of D. Karow bishop of Berlin by the Church Senate (due to the "Bishop Act" by 6. September, the only up to 20.11.1934 was in effect.)

22. November: Writing RB Mueller at D. Karow with the appointment

1934

16. March: 1. Meeting of the newly elected provincial council Brandenburg s.u.

(Memorandum by Bishop Dr. Oberheid): "Bishop Karow was faced with the fact, that the provincial council were to express a vote of no confidence against him. To avoid this,, declared himself ready, July, the month 1934 to retire. RB Mueller agreed. Bishop made Karow Communication. "

4. More: 2. Meeting of the Provincial Synod, Line Propst (!) The. Eckert, the sharp attacks against the Pastors (B. K.) directed.

(To show the "spirit" in the provincial council, Here the partial reproduction of a "rally", of the Synod of the protocol "unanimously" adopted was (The press release is missing the word "unanimously".):

"Born from the consciousness of the great responsibility towards the united German people by Hitler the Synod confesses again to some of the Gospel Church of the Living Christ. In gratitude to the Divine Providence, they recognize in the Nazi state, a tool of the Almighty, to guarantee the principle of freedom and order to the world visible nationalist life. The Brandenburg provincial synod, it is all Nazi-minded fellow church members and guilty, to watch over the order in the community and in the church. …“

7. June: RB Mueller confirmed the dislocation D. Karows to retire to 1. August 1934, with thanks and appreciation for the blessed work to date.

20. November: Repeal of the law of 6. September 1933 the introduction of the episcopate.

1936, 29. January: Confirmation of retirement by the Church Committee of the Church of Berlin-Brandenburg

1937, 20. February: Confirmation of retirement by the Church Committee of the Old Prussian Union

1940 Entry into the armed forces in the rank of major

From the memories of Bishop i.R. Emil Karow:

"Fateful was already (after the elections of church 23. July 1933) the influence of the parish priest and later provost Eckert. Equipped with good administrative abilities and good knowledge of the conditions, he lifted up an unbearable Regiment. He was Nazist with a translucent envelope church. That its applications from the beginning had the certainty, assumed to be, strengthened its position very. This was most notable expression, if a renegotiation of pastor, the direction of the Confessing Church later belonged. They were suspected of being enemies of the German Reich and disparaged, and applications for their displacement have been accepted. "

Provincial Synod line:

The bishop, 18 Members, thereof 12 chosen by the previous provincial council, 6 appointed by the Bishop. Half of the members must be amateurs. The election takes place in relation to the due to the elections of 23. July 1933 existing composition of the previous provincial council

(H.-U. Wehler, "German social history", Band 4, Page 801: In the choice of 23. July 1933 the German Christians had won an overwhelming majority in most provinces and in church without exception all ecclesiastical provinces of the Prussian Union (So also in Berlin) taken the lead.)

Comments are closed.

Biografien

Bischof D. Emil Albert Karow

746Karow

Emil Albert Karow wurde 1871 in Prenzlau als Sohn des Johann Karow und der Wilhelmine Henriette Trebbin geboren. Die Karows aus der Uckermark waren ein bäuerliches Geschlecht, das in Lützlow bei Prenzlau ansässig gewesen ist. Eines der jüngsten Mitglieder der Familie siedelte in die Stadt über und betrieb in Prenzlau ab 1869 eine Bäckerei und Gastwirtschaft. (Einbürgerung in Prenzlau am 07.09.1867) Dies war der Vater von Emil Karow.

Emil studierte in Tübingen, Halle und Berlin und wurde am 12. November 1899 ordiniert. Am 2.10.1900 heiratete er Margarete (Grete) Agathe Martha Liesegang (1872-1943) eine Tochter des Pastoren Liesegang in Perleberg und dessen Gattin Elisabeth Julie Abt. Aus dieser Ehe stammen vier Töchter und ein Sohn. Die komplette Ahnenreihe kann in der Datenbank verfolgt werden.

Daten aus der Zeit 1921 bis 1937

1921: Ernennung zum Mitglied des Evangelischen Oberkirchenrats (EOK) mit der Amtsbezeichnung Oberkonsistorialrat

1926: Verleihung des Ehrendoktors der theologischen Fakultät der Universität Halle-Wittenberg (Darum „D.“ vor dem Namen)

1928: Ernennung zum Generalsuperintendenten (GS) von Berlin durch den Kirchensenat

1933

Juni: Sprecher der GS der Evangelischen Kirche der altpreußischen Union

28. Juni: Beurlaubung durch Reichskommissar Jäger nach einer Sitzung mit allen GS. (In dieser Sitzung war Karow der Sprecher der GS.

12. Juli: Bestallung von Pfr. Otto Eckert (Zossen) (s.u.) als Nachfolger des aus Altersgründen in den Ruhestand getretenen GS Haendler und Beauftragung mit der einstweiligen kommissarischen Wahrnehmung der Geschäfte des GS Berlin-Land.

19. Juli: Aufhebung der Beurlaubung von GS Karow durch den EOK: (Evangelischer Oberkirchenrat)

Zitat aus dem Schreiben an D. Karow: „Um die durch die Beilegung des Konflikts zwischen Staat und Kirche erreichte Befriedung zum Ausdruck zu bringen, …., ist die Beurlaubung Euer Hochwürden aufgehoben. ….“

10. August: „Notverordnung“ zur Zusammenlegung der GSuren Berlin-Stadt und Berlin-Land.

Der vereinigte Sprengel wird vom GS Berlin-Stadt (d.h. D. Karow) verwaltet. Dieser führt die Amtsbezeichnung GS von Berlin.

Hierdurch erlischt der am 12. Juli erteilte Auftrag an Pfr. O. Eckert. (Dieser muss auch das Dienstfahrzeug (Mercedes Benz) an D. Karow zurückgeben.)

6. September: Kirchen-Gesetz über die Errichtung des Landesbischofsamts und von Bistümern

(Wurde am 20. November 1934 von Reichsbischof (RB) L. Müller wieder aufgehoben, mit der Maßgabe, dass das ältere Recht wieder in Kraft tritt. (Die Bekennende Kirche (B. K.) war gegen die Einführung des Bischofsamts, da dieses als nicht protestantisch angesehen wurde.))

12. September: Versetzung der GS Vits (Neumark und Niederlausitz) und Dibelius (Kurmark) in den Ruhestand

16. September: Auftrag des EOK an D. Karow zur Wahrnehmung der Geschäfte der ehemaligen GSuren Neumark und Niederlausitz (GS Vits) und Kurmark (GS Dibelius). Zu seiner (Karows) Unterstützung wird Pfr. O. Eckert bestellt.

12. Oktober: Rückgabe der Amtskreuze der in den Ruhestand versetzten GS Haendler, Vits und Dibelius (per Brief)

01. November: Ernennung von D. Karow zum Bischof von Berlin durch den Kirchensenat (aufgrund des „Bischofsgesetzes“ vom 6. September, das nur bis zum 20.11.1934 in Kraft war.)

22. November: Schreiben von RB Müller an D. Karow mit der Ernennung

1934

16. März: 1. Tagung der neu gewählten Provinzialsynode Brandenburg s.u.

(Aktenvermerk von Bischof Dr. Oberheid): „Bischof Karow stand vor der Tatsache, dass die Provinzialsynode ein Misstrauensvotum gegen ihn aussprechen würde. Um dies zu vermeiden, erklärte er sich bereit, mit Ablauf des Monats Juli 1934 in den Ruhestand zu treten. RB Müller war einverstanden. Bischof Karow Mitteilung gemacht.“

4. Mai: 2. Tagung der Provinzialsynode, Leitung Propst (!) O. Eckert, der scharfe Angriffe gegen den Pfarrernotbund (B. K.) richtet.

(Um den „Geist“ in der Provinzialsynode zu zeigen, hier die auszugsweise Wiedergabe einer „Kundgebung“, die von der Synode gemäß Protokoll „einstimmig“ verabschiedet wurde (In der Pressemitteilung fehlt das Wort „einstimmig“.):

„Getragen vom Bewußtsein der hohen Verantwortung gegenüber dem durch Adolf Hitler geeinten deutschen Volk bekennt sich die Synode erneut zur einigen Kirche des Evangeliums vom lebendigen Christus. In Dankbarkeit gegen die göttliche Vorsehung erkennt sie im nationalsozialistischen Staat ein Werkzeug des Allmächtigen, um durch das Prinzip der Freiheit und Ordnung vor aller Welt sichtbar völkisches Leben zu garantieren. Die Brandenburgische Provinzialsynode ist es allen nationalsozialistisch denkenden Volksgenossen und Kirchengliedern schuldig, über die Ordnung in der Gemeinde und in der Kirche zu wachen. …“

7. Juni: RB Müller bestätigt die Versetzung D. Karows in den Ruhestand zum 1. August 1934, zusammen mit Dank und Anerkennung für die segensreiche bisherige Arbeit.

20. November: Aufhebung des Gesetzes vom 6. September 1933 zur Einführung des Bischofsamtes.

1936, 29. Januar: Bestätigung der Versetzung in den Ruhestand durch den Landeskirchenausschuß der Kirche Berlin-Brandenburg

1937, 20. Februar: Bestätigung der Versetzung in den Ruhestand durch den Landeskirchenausschuß der altpreußischen Union

1940 Eintritt in die Wehrmacht im Rang eines Majors

Aus den Erinnerungen von Bischof i.R. Emil Karow:

„Verhängnisvoll war damals schon (nach den Kirchenwahlen vom 23. Juli 1933) der Einfluss des Pfarrers und späteren Propstes Eckert. Mit guten Verwaltungsgaben und guten Kenntnissen der Verhältnisse ausgestattet, richtete er ein unerträgliches Regiment auf. Er war Nazist mit einer durchscheinenden kirchlichen Umhüllung. Dass seine Anträge von vornherein die Gewissheit hatten, angenommen zu werden, stärkte seine Stellung sehr. Das kam besonders deutlich zum Ausdruck, wenn über Pfarrer verhandelt wurde, die der Richtung der späteren Bekennenden Kirche angehörten. Sie wurden als Feinde des Deutschen Reiches verdächtigt und verächtlich gemacht, und die Anträge auf ihre Versetzung wurden angenommen.“

Provinzialsynode Leitung:

Der Bischof, 18 Mitglieder, davon 12 durch die bisherige Provinzialsynode gewählt, 6 durch den Bischof ernannt. Die Hälfte der Mitglieder müssen Laien sein. Die Wahl erfolgt im Verhältnis der auf Grund der Wahlen vom 23. Juli 1933 bestehenden Zusammensetzung der bisherigen Provinzialsynode

(H.-U. Wehler, „Deutsche Gesellschaftsgeschichte“, Band 4, Seite 801: In der Wahl vom 23. Juli 1933 hatten die Deutschen Christen eine überwältigende Mehrheit in den meisten Kirchenprovinzen errungen und in ausnahmslos allen Kirchenprovinzen der Preußischen Union (also auch in Berlin) die Leitung übernommen.)