Forester and hunter champions in Sophienhof and Ilsenburg Zanthier

zanthier-linde

Zanthier Linde Sophienhof

Who today to Sophienhof is, guess not sure about the former isolation and the difficulties of the residents: Loneliness, long distances to the nearest village, difficult road conditions and lack of means of transport. This small town, near the ice Talmühle was founded on the so-called Schmerplatz. Year 1661 there is a large corral of cows and cattle have been built, the barn 1963 was demolished due to disrepair. In the 19. Century is a small Jagschloss the Wernigerode counts and a stud mentioned.

But there were previously known top forester working. 1745 Long had the forester of the forest management causes, according to their guidelines at first and later in the year 1747 and 1748 up there working forester Hans Dietrich had to depend on Zanthier, Before then, he began new forestry knowledge, or asserted. His achievements in the field of economic forest utilization were recognized and called him to higher responsibilities. From Sophienhof Zanthier had to take care of the Rothesütte and Huftal including hunting grounds and fish ponds.

zanthier-stein

Image rights: Hejkal

Zanthier was on 14.9.1717 salt in Furth, the son of Elbing in East Prussia from originating country- and Kreissteuereinnehmers Heinrich Dietrich von Zanthier (1676-1729) and its 1. Wife, Christine Anna Eleanor of Bodenhausen (1683-1718) born. His father was a landowner to salt Furth, Capella, Thalheim, Saxony Anhalt and. With 15 Years Zanthier body was Page to the Duke of Brunswick-Wolfenbüttel, 17-year-old he was hunting in the principality of Blankenburg and Page became the father of Johann Georg von Langen regular forestry.

Zanthier writes here about: “When I had the good fortune, at a major honor Forstmann learn, I held it in time for austerity, when I am on the hunt, which I had more desire and lust, want to discourage. I could hardly believe, that it is necessary, preferable to the cumbersome nature of the forest merry chase”.

1737 accompanied by Langen pupil for nine years after Norway, learned surveying, Mapping, Classification, Assessment of forests and their planned use. Zanthier was 1740 Wood rangers and Royal Danish hunting Junker.

zanthier-forst

The Hohenstein areas 1745

Christian Ernst Graf zu Stolberg-Wernigerode committed Zanthier 1747 as a forest- hunting and champion of his county, initially be based in Sophienhof for the management of areas Rothesütte, Schmerplätzer and Hufthäler from the former county and district Hohnstein Schierke including carbon- and Torfwesens.

1748 Zanthier was the chief forester- and Jägermeister appointed and the overall supervision of all staff, nice and Forestry Hohnsteinischen (overall 16000 has) entrusted, his ministry was now sitting in the Waldhof Ilsenburg. 30 Years he worked in Ilsenburg and earned a reputation as a practitioner, Writer and teacher.

Zanthiers professional reputation and his philanthropic nature led him to many students, Finally, he led his house as a forest institute, Master School and Academy of Forestry, the first in Germany, probably the world.

At the 22.2.1751 He married Louise of Ilsenburg Schierstedt *3.3.1720 Good to Benzingerode +1.7.1789 Ilsenburg. Louise was the daughter of the landowner on Benzingerode of Schierstedt Jost Friedrich and Sophie Auguste of Krosigk. He died in Wernigerode on 30.11.1778

With the name Zanthier later named after him is a direct descendant, It was the Prussian district administrator and politician Hans Dietrich von Zanthier (1856-1925) Member of the Prussian House of Lords.

Sophienhof is now a very popular hiking destination and well-visited resort, they can hardly believe the former seclusion yet.

Sources of:

Genealogical Handbook of the nobility, A noble houses Volume V, Page 526, Band 29 the total number, C. A. Strong publishing, Limburg (Lahn) 1962
Ludwig Lüder, Ilfeld, A look to the history of the borough, Publisher Neukirchner Nordhausen 2002
Hans Dietrich von Zanthier in: General German Biography (ADB). Band 44, Duncker & Humblot, Leipzig 1898, S. 690.
Plaque in Sophienhof with life and career
Excellent live pictures Foresters and to the forestry deserved mathematician, Scientists and economists, by Dr. Richard Hess, Berlin 1885

Comments are closed.

News Ticker

Oberforst und Jägermeister in Sophienhof und Ilsenburg Zanthier

zanthier-linde

Zanthier Linde in Sophienhof

Wer heute zum Sophienhof kommt, ahnt sicher nichts von der einstigen Abgeschiedenheit und den Schwierigkeiten der Bewohner: Einsamkeit, weite Wege zum nächsten Ort, schwierige Wegverhältnisse und fehlende Transport-mittel. Dieser kleine Ort, unweit der Eisfelder Talmühle ist eine Gründung am sogenannten Schmerplatz. Anno 1661 soll dort ein großer Viehhof für Kühe und Rinder gebaut worden sein, dessen Stallgebäude 1963 wegen Baufälligkeit abgerissen wurde. Im 19. Jahrhundert wird ein kleines Jagschloß der Wernigeröder Grafen und ein Gestüt erwähnt.

Doch bereits früher waren dort oben bekannte Forstmeister tätig. 1745 hatte der Forstmeister von Langen die Forsteinrichtung bewirkt, nach deren Richtlinien sich später zunächst auch der in den Jahren 1747 und 1748 dort oben tätige Forstmeister Hans Dietrich von Zanthier richten mußte, bevor er dann neue forstwirtschaftliche Erkenntnisse einsetzte, oder durchsetzte. Seine Leistungen auf dem Gebiet der wirtschaftlichen Forstnutzung fanden Anerkennung und beriefen ihn zu großen Aufgaben. Von Sophienhof aus hatte Zanthier auch die Rothesütte und Huftal einschließlich Wildbahnen und Fischteiche zu betreuen.

zanthier-stein
image-1831

Bildrechte: Hejkal

Zanthier wurde am 14.9.1717 in Salzfurth als Sohn des aus Elbing in Ostpreußen stammenden Landes- und Kreissteuereinnehmers Heinrich Dietrich von Zanthier (1676-1729) und dessen 1. Ehefrau Christine Anna Eleonore von Bodenhausen (1683-1718) geboren. Sein Vater war Gutsherr auf Salzfurth, Capella, Anhalt und Thalheim in Sachsen. Mit 15 Jahren wurde Zanthier Leibpage beim Herzog von Braunschweig-Wolfenbüttel, erst 17-jährig wurde er Jagdpage im Fürstentum Blankenburg und lernte beim Vater der regelmäßigen Forstwirtschaft Johann Georg von Langen.

Zanthier schreibt hierüber: “Als ich das Glück hatte, bei einem großen würdigen Forstmann zu lernen, so hielt ich es in der Zeit für Strenge, wenn man mich von dem Jagen, wozu ich mehr Begierde und Lust hatte, abhalten zu wollen. Ich konnte kaum glauben, dass es nötig sei, das beschwerliche Forstwesen der lustigen Jagd vorzuziehen”.

1737 begleitete von Langen als Zögling für neun Jahre nach Norwegen, lernte Vermessung, Kartierung, Einteilung, Abschätzung von Wäldern und ihre planmäßige Nutzung. Zanthier wurde 1740 Holzförster und königlich dänischer Jagdjunker.

zanthier-forst
image-1832

Die Hohensteiner Reviere 1745

Graf Christian Ernst zu Stolberg-Wernigerode verpflichtete Zanthier 1747 als Forst- und Jagdmeister seiner Grafschaft, zunächst mit Dienstsitz in Sophienhof zur Bewirtschaftung der Reviere Rothesütte, Schmerplätzer und Hufthäler aus der ehemaligen Grafschaft Hohnstein und des Reviers Schierke einschließlich des Kohl- und Torfwesens.

1748 wurde Zanthier zum Oberforst- und Jägermeister ernannt und mit der Oberaufsicht über sämtliche Wernigeröder und Hohnsteinischen Forsten (insgesamt 16000 ha) betraut, sein Dienstsitz war fortan der Waldhof in Ilsenburg. 30 Jahre wirkte er in Ilsenburg und erwarb sich einen hervorragenden Ruf als Praktiker, Schriftsteller und Lehrer.

Zanthiers fachlicher Ruf und sein menschenfreundlicher Charakter führten ihm viele Schüler zu, schließlich führte er sein Haus als Forstlehranstalt, Meisterschule und Forstakademie, die erste in Deutschland, wahrscheinlich weltweit.

Am 22.2.1751 heiratete er in Ilsenburg Luise von Schierstedt *3.3.1720 auf Gut Benzingerode +1.7.1789 in Ilsenburg. Luise war die Tochter des Gutsbesitzers auf Benzingerode Jost Friedrich von Schierstedt und der Sophie Auguste von Krosigk. Er starb in Wernigerode am 30.11.1778

Mit dem Namen Zanthier wird später nach ihm ein direkter Nachkomme genannt, es war der preußische Landrat und Politiker Hans Dietrich von Zanthier (1856-1925) Mitglied des preußischen Herrenhauses.

Sophienhof ist heute ein überaus beliebtes Wanderziel und gernbesuchter Ferienort, sie lassen die einstige Abgeschiedenheit kaum noch vermuten.

Quellennachweis:

Genealogisches Handbuch des Adels, Adelige Häuser A Band V, Seite 526, Band 29 der Gesamtreihe, C. A. Starke Verlag, Limburg (Lahn) 1962
Ludwig Lüder, Ilfeld, ein Blick die die Geschichte des Fleckens, Verlag Neukirchner Nordhausen 2002
Hans Dietrich von Zanthier in: Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie (ADB). Band 44, Duncker & Humblot, Leipzig 1898, S. 690.
Gedenktafel in Sophienhof mit Lebensbeschreibung und Werdegang
Lebensbilder hervorragender Forstmänner und um das Forstwesen verdienter Mathematiker, Naturforscher und Nationalökonomen, von Dr. Richard Heß, Berlin 1885

%d Bloggern gefällt das: