Church History

George Frideric Greifenklau Vollrads of a prelate of the middle Rhine Reichsritterschaft

The genealogical classification of the family settled in the Rheingau Greifenklau as country of origin, and as the home field of the noble families of angle called Greiffenklau, of Vollrads, Touch-of Vollrads, Matuschka-Greiffenklau of Vollrads. Countess Clara Matuschka-Greiffenklau (1870-1959) in long years the Castle of Archives of Vollrads sighted, organized and made available for scientific research. The nucleus of their aristocratic landowners in the village in the district of angle and angular, to look the part of rheingauischen Urmark.



Johann Philipp von Schönborn (1605 – 1673) and the Roman Curia

At the 12. February 1673 died Elector Johann Philipp von Schönborn, of his time “the German Solomon” called. In the 300. Anniversary of his death took the Department of Catholic Theology at the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz present work as Habilitationssschrift.



Elector Arch-Chancellor of the Reich and Philip Charles of Eltz

At the 30.1.1729 died at his residence in Mainz Lothar Franz von Schönborn, Elector-Archbishop of Mainz and the Bishop of Bamberg, next to his uncle, Johann Philipp, the second major Reichserzkanzler from a gender, that for almost three generations of the image “Germany sacred” certain critical. His death was the undisputed right of the cathedral chapter to elect a successor to the Mainz Erzstuhl not come into force, But the chapter had been in October 1710 the deceased with the Count Palatine Francis Louis of Neuburg line of a coadjutor to the side[...]



The war against the witches, the extermination program of the Elector of Cologne

Witch trials were known to be a European phenomenon. But they were carried out only in certain areas, while not at all in other areas or held only a relatively limited. The current state of research is still very patchy, but it should still be pretty sure, that Germany was the center of European witch trials….



The expulsion of the Salzburg Protestants

In every respect the archdiocese claiming the strictest isolation from foreign influences, with the exception of Italian art, the Spanish or French etiquette and dominion over the Roman chair. The Archbishop of the Salza ruled a vast diocese, of the hiss on even the main volume exceeded.

Kirchengeschichte

Georg Friedrich Greifenklau von Vollrads ein Prälat aus der mittelrheinischen Reichsritterschaft

Die familiengeschichtliche Zuordnung siedelt die Familie von Greifenklau im Rheingau als Ursprungsland an und als Heimatgebiet der adligen Familien von Winkel genannt Greiffenklau, von Vollrads, Greifenklau von Vollrads, Matuschka-Greiffenklau von Vollrads. Clara Gräfin Matuschka-Greiffenklau (1870-1959) hat in langen Jahren das Hausarchiv von Schloss Vollrads gesichtet, geordnet und für die wissenschaftliche Forschung bereitgestellt. Die Keimzelle ihrer adligen Grundherrschaft ist in dem Ort Winkel und in der Gemarkung von Winkel, dem Bestandteil der rheingauischen Urmark zu suchen.



Johann Philipp von Schönborn (1605 – 1673) und die Römische Kurie

Am 12. Februar 1673 starb Kurfürst Johann Philipp von Schönborn, von seiner Zeit “der deutsche Salomo” genannt. Im Jahr der 300. Wiederkehr seines Todestages nahm der Fachbereich Katholische Theologie der Johannes Gutenberg Universität Mainz vorliegende Arbeit als Habilitationssschrift an.



Kurfürst und Erzkanzler des Reiches Philipp Karl von Eltz

Am 30.1.1729 verstarb in seiner Mainzer Residenz Lothar Franz von Schönborn, Kurfürst-Erzbischof von Mainz und Bischof von Bamberg, neben seinem Onkel Johann Philipp der zweite bedeutende Reichserzkanzler aus einem Geschlecht, das für fast drei Generationen das Bild der “Germania sacra” entscheidend bestimmte. Sein Tod ließ das unangefochtene Recht des Domkapitels zur Wahl eines Nachfolgers auf dem Mainzer Erzstuhl nicht in Kraft treten, hatte das Kapitel doch bereits im Oktober 1710 dem Verstorbenen mit dem Pfalzgrafen Franz Ludwig aus der Neuburger Linie einen Koadjutor zur Seite  [...]



Der Krieg gegen die Hexen, das Ausrottungsprogramm des Kurfürsten von Köln

Hexenprozesse waren bekanntlich ein europäisches Phänomen. Aber sie wurden nur in bestimmten Gebieten durchgeführt, während sie in anderen Gebieten garnicht oder nur in relativ geringem Umfang stattfanden. Der heutige Forschungsstand ist noch sehr lückenhaft, aber es dürfte trotzdem recht sicher sein, dass Deutschland das Zentrum der europäischen Hexenprozesse war….



Die Vertreibung der Salzburger Protestanten

In jeder Beziehung behauptete das Erzstift die strengste Abgeschlossenheit gegenüber fremden Einflüssen, mit Ausnahme der italienischen Kunst, der spanischen oder französischen Etikette und der Botmäßigkeit gegenüber dem römischen Stuhl. Der Erzbischof an der Salza herrschte über einen riesigen Sprengel, der selbst den Mainzischen an Umfang übertraf.