Posts Tagged ‘ Rhineland ’

The history of the town and the high school Jülich

Nideggen

The history of Jülich, in particular, the former high school is 1890 been started. Whereas in 1. Part of the history of the city and its city charter is treated excerpts, bring the 2. and 3. Part of the continuous history of the city and also for the history of the school. The coherent presentation begins around the middle of 16. Century, where the glorious Duke Wilhelm V. build the fortress and the castle was and from where at the same time after the great fire 26. More 1547 the city of the ducal[...]



The feudal lords and vassals of the castle and the glory Rheydt

The earliest inhabitants of the Lower Rhine level were the Celts. This ancient nation in the opinion of the Lore-language name Rheydt back which leads as they say- is derived from the Celtic word “rithi=Wasserfurt”. Besides the exact history is written extensively about the church and the feudal lords and vassals Rheydts until the time of French rule.



The aristocratic convent sea near Neuss

The presentation of the history of the monastery was at the instigation of Baron Friedrich von der Leyen-Bloemersheim. He was also undertook the design changes and so the buildings saved from destruction. In this way, a lot of memories, the former to the monastery and its former owner remembered, will receive. Besides the detailed description of the historical events since the foundation of the monastery, the geographic extent, a genealogy, Description of the donations and privileges, is particularly the list of champions, Nuns, Priors and priests of the monastery (versehen  [...]



Family research in the archives of North Rhine-Westphalia state people

The State Archives of North Rhine-Westphalia has published a brochure, with important and useful tips for genealogy and the right way to your own family tree.

Beiträge zum Stichwort ‘ Rheinland ’

Die Geschichte der Stadt und des Gymnasiums Jülich

Nideggen

Die Geschichte der Stadt Jülich, insbesondere des früheren Gymnasiums ist 1890 begonnen worden. Während im 1. Teil die Geschichte der Stadt und ihre Stadtverfassung in Auszügen behandelt ist, bringen der 2. und 3. Teil die zusammenhängende Geschichte der Stadt und zugleich für die Geschichte der Schule. Die zusammenhängende Darstellung beginnt um die Mitte des 16. Jahrhunderts, wo der glorreiche Herzog Wilhelm V. die Festung und das Schloss bauen ließ und wo zugleich nach dem großen Brand vom 26. Mai 1547 die Stadt von dem herzoglichen  [...]



Die Lehnsherren und Lehnsträger des Schlosses und der Herrlichkeit Rheydt

Die ältesten Bewohner der niederrheinischen Ebene waren die Kelten. Auf diese uralte Völkerschaft führt nach Meinung von Sprachkundigen der Name Rheydt zurück -welcher wie man behauptet- abzuleiten ist von dem keltischen Wort “rithi=Wasserfurt”. Neben der genauen Vorgeschichte wird ausführlich berichtet über die Gemeinde sowie die Lehnsträger und Lehnsherren Rheydts bis zu den Zeiten der französischen Herrschaft.



Das adelige Frauenkloster Meer bei Neuss

Die Darstellung der Geschichte dieses Klosters geschah auf Veranlassung des Freiherrn Friedrich von der Leyen-Blömersheim. Er war es auch der bauliche Veränderungen vornahm und so die Gebäude vor dem Untergang rettete. Auf diese Weise konnten viele Erinnerungen, die an das ehemalige Kloster und seiner früheren Besitzer erinnerten, erhalten werden. Neben der ausführlichen Darlegung der geschichtlichen Ereignisse seit der Stiftung des Klosters, der geographischen Ausdehnung, einer Stammtafel, die Beschreibung von Schenkungen und Privilegien, ist besonders das Verzeichnis der Meisterinnen, Nonnen, Prioren und Geistlichen des Klosters (versehen  [...]



Familienforschung in den Personenstandsarchiven Nordrhein-Westfalen

Das Landesarchiv Nordrhein-Westfalen hat eine Broschüre herausgegeben, mit wichtigen und nützlichen Tips zur Familienforschung und dem richtigen Weg zum eigenen Stammbaum.