Posts Tagged ‘ Religious refugees ’

contributions to the history of the house Neufville since the immigration of the family to Germany

Wappen-Neufville-Mumm

The “de Neufville” came as Reformed Protestant refugees to Frankfurt . The family originated from the county of Artois . In 1575 were Robert and Sebastian citizens of the city . Two years later, married Sebastian (1545-1609) mit der Anna Cochx (Cook) and quickly came through his cloth trade to large fortune . He was the founder of the Frankfurt branch. Son Sebastian (1581-1634) extended trade to silk , gems and metals and the assets increased considerably .



Collection: History sheets of the German Huguenot Society

Olbreuze

The word Huguenot is a term of disputed origin of language. In France, it is effective for 1551 detectable, He was considered a dirty word, before the Protestants themselves so called. In Prussia was the first word is not used, here were referred to the refugees as Réfugiés, their settlement area as a French colony. It was not until 1900 continued in the German states, the use of the term by Huguenot.



The expulsion of the Salzburg Protestants

In every respect the archdiocese claiming the strictest isolation from foreign influences, with the exception of Italian art, the Spanish or French etiquette and dominion over the Roman chair. The Archbishop of the Salza ruled a vast diocese, of the hiss on even the main volume exceeded.

Beiträge zum Stichwort ‘ Glaubensflüchtlinge ’

Beiträge zur Geschichte des Hauses Neufville seit der Einwanderung der Familie nach Deutschland

Wappen-Neufville-Mumm

Die “de Neufville” kamen als reformierte Glaubensflüchtlinge nach Frankfurt. Die Familie stammte aus der Grafschaft Artois. Im Jahre 1575 wurden Robert und Sebastian Bürger der Stadt. Zwei Jahre später verheiratete sich Sebastian (1545-1609) mit der Anna Cochx (Koch) und kam durch seinen Tuchhandel schnell zu großem Vermögen. Er war der Begründer des Frankfurter Zweiges.  Sohn Sebastian (1581-1634) erweiterte den Handel um Seide, Juwelen und Metalle und vermehrte das Vermögen beträchtlich.



Sammlung: Geschichtsblätter des deutschen Hugenotten-Vereins

Olbreuze

Das Wort Hugenotte ist ein Ausdruck von umstrittener sprachlicher Herkunft. In Frankreich ist er erstmals für 1551 nachweisbar, er galt als Schimpfwort, bevor die Protestanten selbst sich so nannten. In Preußen wurde das Wort zunächst nicht verwendet, hier bezeichnete man die Flüchtlinge als Réfugiés, ihr Siedlungsgebiet als Französische Kolonie. Erst um 1900 setzte sich auch in den deutschen Ländern der Gebrauch des Ausdrucks Hugenotte durch.



Die Vertreibung der Salzburger Protestanten

In jeder Beziehung behauptete das Erzstift die strengste Abgeschlossenheit gegenüber fremden Einflüssen, mit Ausnahme der italienischen Kunst, der spanischen oder französischen Etikette und der Botmäßigkeit gegenüber dem römischen Stuhl. Der Erzbischof an der Salza herrschte über einen riesigen Sprengel, der selbst den Mainzischen an Umfang übertraf.