The castle Heimbach and the counts and lords of Hengebach

The name comes from Heimbecha first in a document of the Frankish king Theodoric I., with donations to the church at Arras. The name comes from the river Heimbach Hengebach “ubi Hengebach influit Ruram.”

The oldest owner of the castle or the castle Hengebach, was Godizo of Aspel-Heimbach, the son of Richizo; as parentage and its origin is unclear, but he was a mighty lord, and he was not only the owner of Heimbach and Aspel on the Lower Rhine. Both locks he gave on his deathbed 1011 into the hands of Count Gerhard of Monterberg. This left but Aspel, because he was removed to, his friend the Count Balderich, was in Clevischen wealthy and rich by marriage by his wife Adela with Godizo; Heimbach but he gave the widow of Godizo. This widow had misled, for the second time to marry a certain Gebhard and included in Heimbach, a vassal of Balderich.

Balderich was a long time ago in a bloody feud for control of the Lower Rhine with his relatives by Count Wichmann of Hamaland. Now, while Wichmann 1012 was sent to Duke Godfrey of Lower Lorraine and Bishop of nobility Bold Utrcht at the top of the imperial army to Brabant, Gerhard rushed to the aid of these, who had been displaced by Gebhard von Heimbach.

Those:

Miller, Giles: The castle Heimbach and the counts and lords of Hengebach, Bochum: Fassbender, 1868 (Contribution to the history of the Duchy of Jülich)

Weblink:

The history of Heimbach and his castle

Comments are closed.

News Ticker

Das Schloss Heimbach und die Grafen und Herren von Hengebach

Der Name Heimbecha kommt zuerst vor in einer Urkunde des fränkischen Königs Theodorich I., mit Schenkungen an die Kirche zu Arras. Der Name Heimbach kommt von dem Flüßchen Hengebach "ubi Hengebach influit Ruram."

Der älteste Besitzer des Schlosses oder der Burg Hengebach, war Godizo von Aspel-Heimbach, der Sohn des Richizo; seine Familienzugehörigkeit und seine Herkunft ist unklar, aber er war ein mächtiger Herr und er war nicht nur Eigentümer von Heimbach und Aspel am Niederrhein. Beide Schlösser übergab er auf dem Sterbebett 1011 in die Hände des Grafen Gerhard von Monterberg. Dieser aber überließ Aspel, weil es ihm zu entfernt lag, seinem Freund dem Grafen Balderich, der im Clevischen reich begütert und durch seine Gemahlin Adela mit Godizo verschwägert war; Heimbach aber übergab er der Witwe des Godizo. Diese Witwe ließ sich verleiten, zum zweiten Male einen gewissen Gebhard zu ehelichen und in Heimbach aufzunehmen, einen Vasallen des Balderich.

Balderich lag schon lange Zeit vorher in blutiger Fehde um die Herrschaft des Niederrheins mit dem ihm verschwägerten Grafen Wichmann von Hamaland. Während nun Wichmann 1012 mit Herzog Gottfried von Niederlothringen und Bischof Adelbold von Utrcht an der Spitze eines kaiserlichen Heeres nach Brabant geschickt wurde, eilte dieser dem Gerhard zu Hilfe, welcher durch Gebhard von Heimbach verdrängt worden war.

Quelle:

Müller, Aegidius: Das Schloß Heimbach und die Grafen und Herren von Hengebach, Bochum: Faßbender, 1868 (Beitrag zur Geschichte des Herzogthums Jülich)

Weblink:

Die Geschichte von Heimbach und seiner Burg

%d Bloggern gefällt das: