The genealogy of the family of the castle and Gerolt to Leyen at Linz on the Rhine

The old castle was home to the headquarters Leyen one by that name to call the race (originally as a free fee simple) An initial partial destruction of the castle is under siege by the year 1340 attributed.

Then was archbishop Engelbert III through. in 1368 a recovery, but their subsequent complete destruction falls on a feud, which went beyond the boundaries of the Cologne archbishopric, in time to 1475 back.

As a replacement to the sex of Monreal was in 1480 the old customs house in Linz granted. This is also in the specification of 22.4.1615 confirmed. At the 5. June 1341 Johann Ritter von der Leyen was the archbishop of Cologne and the archbishopric Walram his castle to Leyen to a quite considerable sum of money because of his proven benefits of the castle as a feudal castle at Wied. He was with his first wife Greta, a daughter of Henry Rolman of Remagen and married his second wife Agnes von Isenburg-border tax.

Those:

Long, Joseph Henry: Leyen castle at Linz on the Rhine : Plant: Genealogy of the family of Gerolt, Cologne : Gorres-house, 1927

Comments are closed.

Adels-Historie, Digitale Bibliothek

Die Stammtafel des Geschlechts von Gerolt und die Burg zur Leyen bei Linz am Rhein

Burg-zur-Leyen

Das alte Burghaus zur Leyen war der Stammsitz eines nach diesem Namen sich nennenden Geschlechts (ursprünglich als freies Allodialgut) Eine erstmalige teilweise Zerstörung der Burg wird einer Belagerung um das Jahr 1340 zugeschrieben.

Daraufhin erfolgte zwar durch Erzbischof Engelbert III. im Jahre 1368 eine Wiederherstellung, doch fällt ihre spätere völlige Zerstörung auf eine Fehde, die über die Grenzen des kölnischen Erzstifts hinausreichte, in die Zeit um 1475 zurück.

Als Ersatz wurde dem Geschlecht von Monreal im Jahre 1480 das alte Zollhaus in Linz eingeräumt. Dies wird auch in der Spezifikation vom 22.4.1615 bestätigt. Am 5. Juni 1341 trug Ritter Johann von der Leyen dem Erzbischof Walram von Köln und dem Erzstift sein Schloss zur Leyen gegen eine recht ansehnliche Geldsumme wegen der ihm erwiesenen Wohltaten als Burglehen des Schlosses Wied auf. Er war in erster Ehe mit Grete, einer Tochter des Heinrich Rolman von Sinzig und in zweiter Ehe mit Agnes von Isenburg-Grenzau verheiratet.

Quelle:

Langen, Heinrich Joseph: Burg zu Leyen bei Linz am Rhein : Anlage: Stammtafel des Geschlechts von Gerolt, Köln : Görres-Haus, 1927