The descendants of the geographer Gerhard Mercator (1512-1594)

Gerhard Mercator (Gerard de Kremer actually, latinized: Gerardus Mercator = Gerhard Kramer) was a mathematician begandeter, Geographer, Philosopher, Theologian and cartographer, which was regarded as far back as Ptolemy of his time.

Mercator married to lions in early August 1535 Barbara Schellekens. They were given 6 All the children before 1552 are born. There were three sons of: Arnold, Bartholomew and Rumold. The three daughters were: Emerentia or Emerentiana, Dorothea and Catherine. That children are born in this order is almost certainly.

In 1552 moved the whole family of lions to Duisburg on; auch die verwitwete Mutter von Barbara schloss sich an und lebte in Duisburg bis nach 1567. In 1558 Mercator bought and located on the upper road large estate – Here he lived until his death on 2.12.1594. His wife had him after fifty years of marriage on 24.8.1586 preceded by. A few months later, he married Gertrude quadruple, the widow of his friend Duisburg councilman and mayor Ambrose Moer. She died on 18. October 1599.

The eldest son Arnold came on 31. August 1536 on the world. His main job was as a surveyor and cartographer. On behalf of the Archbishop of Trier, he made 1567 Vermseeung to own a map of the Upper- and low-pin to. 1570 He presented on behalf of the council a large map of the city of Cologne in watercolors ago. Then he made in the following years, an engraving on 16 Plates. This stitch is obtained in a single specimen remained. 1584 before he took a survey of the county Katzenelnbogen. In 1586 He went down because the Hessian country to measure.

In 1572 Arnold has been citizen and alderman of Duisburg and a 24 year old married to Elisabeth, the daughter of the famous rector of the Düsseldorf School John Monheim. His wife gave him 13 Children (9 Boys and 4 Girl) Reported are the only sons of John, Gerhard and Michael. His wife died on 17.8.1591

Emerentia was probably the end of 1538 or early 1539 born. They married in January 1560 the friend of her father John Molanus (Johannes van der Molen)

Bartholomew the second son of the geographer was granted only a short life. He was 1540 born and died in 1568. The second daughter, Dorothea (sometimes Theodora) must 1541 be born. She married about 30 Years old, 1572 the merchant from Antwerp Six Alard. Who was then a widower with two sons from his first marriage: Jacob and Alard, Born in Frankfurt. Jacob's first wife was named Rachel le Bruin, his second wife he was married to Elizabeth Labart (or Babart) She died between 1621 and 1623 almost simultaneously with him. The oldest daughter, Barbara married at Six 9.8.1594 Steffen Wisman from Antwerp. Both died 1615 in Frankfurt. The second daughter Sara married in Six 1595 Marc Anton Baclier.

Rumold was to 1547 born. He devoted himself to the bookstore and went to the heirs of the Cologne bookseller and publisher Arnold Birckmann (in the publishing and the cosmography of his brother Bartholomew 1563 and the chronology of his father 1569 appeared) He was married to a daughter of his stepmother, Gertrude quadruplet of the past and Mayor Ambrose Moer. At his death he left minor children. The third daughter Catherine, was the wife of Theodore Verhaar.

Those:

Averdunk, Heinrich : The descendants of the geographer Gerhard Mercator, Duisburg : Museum Association, 1913

Comments are closed.

News Ticker

Die Nachkommen des Geographen Gerhard Mercator (1512-1594)

Gerhard Mercator (eigentlich Gerard de Kremer, latinisiert: Gerardus Mercator = Gerhard Krämer) war ein begandeter Mathematiker, Geograph, Philosoph, Theologe und Kartograf, der schon zu Lebzeiten als der Ptolemäus seiner Zeit angesehen wurde.

Gerhard Mercator heiratete zu Löwen Anfang August 1535 Barbara Schellekens. Sie bekamen 6 Kinder die alle vor 1552 geboren sind. Es waren drei Söhne: Arnold, Bartholomäus und Rumold. Die drei Töchter hießen: Emerentia oder Emerentiana, Dorothea und Katharina. Dass die Kinder in dieser Reihenfolge geboren sind ist ziemlich sicher.

Im Jahre 1552 siedelte die ganze Familie von Löwen nach Duisburg über; auch die verwitwete Mutter von Barbara schloss sich an und lebte  in Duisburg bis nach 1567.  Im Jahre 1558 kaufte Mercator eine an der Oberstraße gelegene große Besitzung – hier lebte er bis zu seinem Lebensende am 2.12.1594. Seine Gattin war ihm nach fünfzigjähriger Ehe am 24.8.1586 vorausgegangen. Wenige Monate darauf heiratete er Gertrud Vierlings, die Witwe des mit ihm befreundeten Duisburger Ratsherrn und Bürgermeisters Ambrosius Moer. Sie starb am 18. Oktober 1599.

Der älteste Sohn Arnold kam am 31. August 1536 auf die Welt. Seine Haupttätigkeit war die eines Landvermessers und Kartographen. Im Auftrag des Erzbischofs von Trier fertigte er 1567 nach eigener Vermseeung eine Karte des Ober- und des Niederstifts an. 1570 stellte er im Auftrag des Rats einen großen Plan der Stadt Köln in Aquarellfarben her. Danach fertigte er in den folgenden Jahren einen Kupferstich auf 16 Platten. Dieser Stich ist in einem einzigen Exemplar erhalten geblieben. 1584 nahm er eine Vermessung der Grafschaft Katzenelnbogen vor. Im Jahre 1586 ging er daran das niederhessische Land zu vermessen.

Im Jahre 1572 wurde Arnold Bürger und Ratsherr zu Duisburg und verheiratete sich als 24jähriger mit Elisabeth, der Tochter des berühmten Rektors der Düsseldorfer Schule Johannes Monheim. Seine Gattin schenkte ihm 13 Kinder (9 Knaben und 4 Mädchen) Überliefert sind nur die Söhne Johannes, Gerhard und Michael. Seine Frau starb am 17.8.1591

Emerentia wurde vermutlich Ende 1538 oder Anfang 1539 geboren. Sie vermählte sich im Januar 1560 mit dem Freund ihres Vaters Johannes Molanus (Johannes van der Molen)

image-16216

Bartholomäus dem zweiten Sohn des Geographen war nur ein kurzes Leben beschieden. Er war 1540 geboren und starb bereits 1568. Die zweite Tochter Dorothea (bisweilen auch Theodora) muss 1541 geboren sein. Sie heiratete etwa 30 Jahre alt, 1572 den Kaufmann Alard Six aus Antwerpen. Der war damals Witwer und hatte aus erster Ehe zwei Söhne: Jakob und Alard, geboren in Frankfurt. Jakobs erste Frau trug den Namen Rahel le Bruin, in zweiter Ehe war er verheiratet mit Elisabeth Labart (oder Babart) Diese starb zwischen 1621 und 1623 fast zeitgleich mit ihm. Die älteste Tochter Barbara Six heiratete am 9.8.1594 Steffen Wisman aus Antwerpen. Beide starben 1615 in Frankfurt. Die zweite Tochter Sara Six heiratete im Jahre 1595 Marc Anton Baclier.

Rumold wurde um 1547 geboren. Er widmete sich dem Buchhandel und trat bei den Erben des Kölner Buchhändlers und Verlegers Arnold Birckmann ein (in deren Verlag auch die Kosmographie seines Bruders Bartholomäus 1563 und die Chronologie seines Vaters 1569 erschien) Er war verheiratet mit einer Tochter seiner Stiefmutter Gertrud Vierlings und des gewesenen Bürgermeisters Ambrosius Moer. Bei seinem Tod hinterließ er unmündige Kinder. Die dritte Tochter Katharina, wurde Gattin des Theodor Verhaar.

Quelle:

Averdunk, Heinrich : Die Nachkommen des Geographen Gerhard Mercator, Duisburg : Museumsverein, 1913 (Digitale Version vorhanden)

%d Bloggern gefällt das: