News Ticker

Ilfeld in the southern Harz – from the monastery town a health resort

At the 17.9.1385 Ilfeld was as “Ilfeld spots” founded. 1417 Count Bodo von Stolberg holds the county, including the castle Hohenstein Hohenstein and Office. In 1524 The castle was destroyed and the Ilfeld Ilfeld monastery by the farmers Niedersachswerfen, Ilfeld and occupied Appenrode.

Stifts Kirche St. Georg-Marien in Ilfeld

Pin Church St. George – Marien in Ilfeld

Ilfeld was first 1154 mentioned. The town developed from a village to the monastery smelter in the late Middle Ages, is now a recognized resort and has approximately. 3000 Residents such as some of my relatives: “Bornemann, Hiller, Neander, Ernert, Rambow, Manfred Kappler vom Ilfelder Heritage Museum and my grandmother, a born Liesegang”.

Stifts Kirche St. Georg-Marien in Ilfeld

At 1100 Elger, Count I. edify the Ilburg. Sun built around the year 1100 Bähretal in the well based in Thuringia Bielsteiner Count on Ilfelder Burgberg, Today the remains of the wall bears, a castle and called on from there as “Ilburger” in documents. One of the earliest reports of a murder of Edelgerus de Ylfeld to a grandson of the famous Otto von Nordheim.

Perhaps to atone for its built Graf Elger I. at the site of the future monastery Ilfeld on the stone pillar is an eternal lamp in honor of the Virgin Mary. Elger II. moved to 1161 the Castle Hohnstein over and with the foundation of the monastery in Ilfeld 1189 by him and his wife Lutrude won the place in size and importance. 1234 Vorwerk is the first mentioned Königerode, significance as the birthplace of Liesegang and 1240 the district Wieger village as “Wigradisdorp”. 1332 Wieger village is by selling to the monastery Ilfeld Klosterdorf.

In the former convent school is now the Neander clinic Harzwald, after Michael Neander (+26.4.1595) the famous pedagogue, the 1550 taught here and was rector, was named.

At the 17.9.1385 Ilfeld was as “Ilfeld spots” founded. 1417 Count Bodo von Stolberg holds the county, including the castle Hohenstein Hohenstein and Office. In 1524 The castle was destroyed and the Ilfeld Ilfeld monastery by the farmers Niedersachswerfen, Ilfeld and occupied Appenrode.

The monks fled then to Nordhausen. Abbot Thomas Stange took 1544 the monastery, which had been spared from the destruction. Already 1546 the monastery was Protestant and 1551 was a Protestant parish founded in Ilfeld. (To 1982 Church of Hanover County)

kloster-ilfeld

Around the middle of the 15. Century had succeeded, The Black Copper, this was the end product of the Mansfeld huts until then, withdraw in the silver contained in it by the so-called Saigerungsprozess. This invention is worde rightly described as the most important technological event in the history of the Mansfeld mining. The order came Ilfelder Saigerhütte 1512 in Ilfelder valley after a consultation of Count Botho of Stolberg with Dr. Philip Dragstedt (Drachstedt) from Eisleben. The cabin site is on today's paper mill and has only ewa 30 Years passed. Later there was an iron works and a sawmill and a year 1680 the aforementioned paper mill.

michael-neanderIn the 30 years war fell Ilfelder Mines and iron. But immediately after the peace agreement in 1652, Martin wanted to Count Johann von Stolberg on hut ditch aufauen a new refining plant. The administrator of the pin Ilfeld, Military Council of Otto Maudsland but successfully prevented the, because he will not tolerate the construction of a blast furnace was. Only through the recess 23.1.1654 was no agreement is reached and the foundation stone for the steel St. St. John's could be placed. Enjoyed its heyday in the ironworks 18. Century.

Otto came out of Maudsland Ellrich the resin, and had studied at the University of Helmstedt, where he 1624 had acquired a master's degree in philosophy. Since the 30s of the 17. Century he was in the service of the Guelph dukes, first as a council of war, since 1652 as a counselor and finally as a member of the Privy Council of Duke Georg Wilhelm, he 1665 the Principality of Calenberg the Principality Celle followed. 1650 he had the collection in the realm of nobility under the name "of Maudsland" gained. The name derives from his property in Maudsland (at Ellrich) from.

By country of gorgeous patent 8. More 1818 was the management of the post of King George III of Ilfeld. built by Hanover in Hanover Klosterkammer transferred, they will still be responsible for managing the pin.

The year 1866 brought the end of the Kingdom of Hanover. Ilfeld then became part of the Prussian province of Hanover. The monastery wilt faithful disciple, Teachers and professors, but also the inhabitants put to the Prussians now open and hidden resisted. The anti-Prussian sentiment, the representatives of the Hanoverian nobility and the old Hanoverian at the convent school had the greatest advocates, impacted until 1. World War.

marcus-itesIlfeld is picturesquely situated in the most beautiful valley in the southern Harz ca. 260 m above sea level. It is surrounded by beautiful foliage- and coniferous forests and crystal clear streams, inviting for walking and cycling. Here may be a lot of interesting Sights discover, Sun e.g.. bizarre rock formations such as the Gänseschnabel, old castle ruins or the mine tunnels Rabensteiner.

The church was built in the years 1865-1868 for remission of King George V. and Queen Mary in place of the demolished St. George's Church and the old spot, 1223 consecrated to the Virgin Mary, Romanesque monastery church built. (See also articles about life and death of the old Ilfelder)

At the 28. December 1884 Office is captain of the first district of Fumetti Circle Ilfeld used. Julius Bernhard von Fumetti was chief of police in Emden and was 1868 offset by Ilfeld. He died as a Privy Councillor on 11. July 1907 in Hanover and fJulyin Ilfeld's final resting place. During his tenure, the St. George - St. Mary's Church on 18.10.1868 been transferred and the 4. July 1884 took place the inauguration of the new convent school.

In the 19. Century could be many artisans, Trucking companies and businessmen in Ilfeld down, of the 1866-1932 County seat was. The circle Ilfeld was the smallest county in the district and had 16656 Population. With the rise of Hitler, there were also changes in Ilfeld. Was the monastery school 1934 Before the Fall and the 2. World War II brought 228 Citizen's death. Prisoners of various other locations of the Buchenwald concentration camp had to perform forced labor in Ilfeld.

Das Ilfelder Heimatmuseum Hier ging meine Familie zur Schule Im Hinterhof meiner Familie
Ein Blick in Richtung Garten Hier wurde mein Bruder geboren Viele Erinnerungen werden wach

The mild climate and the fresh air are very beneficial for the respiratory system. Ilfeld is a separate municipality in the district of Nordhausen, Thuringia and is located approximately. 10 km north of Nordhausen. Best reached via Ilfeld Nordhausen, Westl. the B 243 Coming from Göttingen-Herzberg, suedl. the B 4 Coming from Sondershausen-Erfurt, east on the B80 from Halle-Leipzig and Nördl. or the B4. B81 or from directions Bad Harzburg Goslar. Wernigerode, Magdeburg. For Hiking in Ilfeld, I recommend the 3-Star Apartments in Baar in the Castle Road. This is an ideal base for exploring the Harz and Kyffhäuser

Einwohnerbuch 1935According to the Census had Ilfeld 1823 600, in 1928 1874 and in 1930 1941 Population. The population rose dramatically, Sun had to Ilfeld 1996 already 2841 Population.

In the Digital Library is home to a lot of literature deposited, also the village Ilfeld. Information on the population registry of the county of Hohenstein 1935 I impart upon request.

Die vollständige Liste an downloadbarer Heimatliteratur see here:

 

Sources of:

Ludwig Lüder, Ilfeld, A look to the history of the borough, Publisher Neukirchner Nordhausen 2002

Manfred Bornemann, Ilfeld 1940-1950, Contributions to a decade of local history, Self-published Hamburg 1984

Weblink:

The community Ilfeld and their surrounding communities

Ilfeld im Südharz – vom Klosterdorf zum Luftkurort

Stifts Kirche St. Georg-Marien in Ilfeld

Stifts Kirche St. Georg - Marien in Ilfeld

Ilfeld wurde erstmals 1154 erwähnt. Die Gemeinde entwickelte sich vom Klosterdorf zum Hüttenort im ausgehenden Mittelalter, ist heute ein anerkannter Erholungsort und hat ca. 3000 Einwohner so zum Beispiel einige meiner Verwandten: “Bornemann, Hiller, Neander, Ernert, Rambow, Manfred Kappler vom Ilfelder Heimatmuseum und auch meine Großmutter, eine geborene Liesegang”.

Stifts Kirche St. Georg-Marien in Ilfeld

Um 1100 ließ Graf Elger I. die Ilburg erbauen. So bauten um das Jahr 1100 im Bähretal die wohl in Thüringen beheimateten Bielsteiner Grafen auf dem Ilfelder Burgberg, der noch heute Mauerreste trägt, eine Burg und bezeichneten sich von da an als “Ilburger” in den Urkunden. Eine der ältesten berichtet von einer Mordtat des Edelgerus de Ylfeld an einem Enkel des bekannten Otto von Nordheim.

Vielleicht zur Sühne dessen errichtete Graf Elger I. an der Stelle des späteren Klosters Ilfeld auf einem steinernen Pfeiler eine ewige Lampe zu Ehren der Jungfrau Maria. Elger II. siedelte um 1161 auf die Burg Hohnstein über und mit der Stiftung des Klosters Ilfeld im Jahre 1189 durch ihn und seiner Frau Lutrude gewann der Ort an Größe und Bedeutung. 1234 wird das Vorwerk Königerode erstmals erwähnt, bedeutsam als Ursprungsort der Liesegangs und 1240 der Ortsteil Wiegersdorf als “Wigradisdorp”. 1332 wird Wiegersdorf durch Verkauf an das Kloster Ilfeld Klosterdorf.

In der ehemaligen Klosterschule befindet sich heute die Neanderklinik Harzwald, die nach Michael Neander (+26.4.1595) dem berühmten Pädagogen, der 1550 hier lehrte und Rektor wurde, benannt wurde.

Am 17.9.1385 wurde Ilfeld als “Flecken Ilfeld” gegründet. 1417 erwarb Graf Bodo von Stolberg die Grafschaft Hohenstein samt Burg und Amt Hohnstein. Im Jahre 1524 wurde die Burg Ilfeld zerstört und das Kloster Ilfeld durch die Bauern aus Niedersachswerfen, Ilfeld und Appenrode besetzt.

Die Mönche flüchteten daraufhin nach Nordhausen. Abt Thomas Stange übernahm 1544 das Kloster, welches von der Zerstörung verschont geblieben war. Bereits 1546 war das Kloster evangelisch und 1551 wurde eine evangelische Pfarrei in Ilfeld gegründet. (Bis 1982 Kirchenkreis Hannover)

kloster-ilfeld

Um die Mitte des 15. Jahrhunderts war es gelungen, dem Schwarzkupfer, das bis dahin das Endprodukt der Mansfelder Hütten war, das in in ihm enthaltene Silber durch den sogenannten Saigerungsprozess zu entziehen. Diese Erfindung ist mit Recht als das bedeutendste technische Ereignis in der Geschichte des Mansfelder Bergbaus bezeichnet worde. Die Ilfelder Saigerhütte entstand um 1512 im Ilfelder Tal nach einer Absprache des Grafen Botho von Stolberg mit einem Dr. Philippus Dragstedt (Drachstedt) aus Eisleben. Der Hüttenplatz liegt an der heutigen Papierfabrik und hat nur ewa 30 Jahre bestanden. Später entstand hier eine Eisenhütte und eine Sägemühle und im Jahr 1680 die bereits erwähnte Papiermühle.

michael-neanderIm 30jährigen Krieg verfielen die Ilfelder Bergwerke und Hütten. Aber gleich nach dem Friedensschluss im Jahre 1652, wollte Graf Johann Martin von Stolberg am Hüttengraben einen neuen Hüttenbetrieb aufauen. Der Administrator des Stiftes Ilfeld, Kriegsrat Otto von Mauderode verhinderte das aber erfolgreich, weil er den Bau eines Hochofens nicht dulden wollte. Erst durch Rezeß vom 23.1.1654 kam eine Einigung zustande und der Grundstein für die Eisenhütte St. Johannis konnte gelegt werden. Ihre Blütezeit erlebte die Eisenhütte im 18. Jahrhundert.

Otto von Mauderode stammte aus Ellrich am Harz und hatte an der Universität Helmstedt studiert, wo er 1624 den philosophischen Magistergrad erworben hatte. Seit den 30er Jahren des 17. Jahrhunderts stand er im Dienst der Welfenherzöge, zunächst als Kriegsrat, seit 1652 als Hofrat und schließlich als Mitglied im Geheimen Rat des Herzogs Georg Wilhelm, dem er 1665 vom Fürstentum Calenberg ins Fürstentum Celle folgte. 1650 hatte er die Erhebung in den Reichsadelsstand unter dem Namen „von Mauderode“ erlangte. Der Name leitet sich von seiner Besitzung in Mauderode (bei Ellrich) ab.

Durch landesherrliches Patent vom 8. Mai 1818 wurde die Verwaltung des Stiftes Ilfeld der von König Georg III. von Hannover errichteten Klosterkammer in Hannover übertragen, sie nimmt auch heute noch die Verwaltung des Stiftes wahr.

Das Jahr 1866 brachte das Ende des Königreichs Hannover. Ilfeld gehörte fortan zur preußischen Provinz Hannover. Die welfentreuen Klosterschüler, Lehrer und Professoren, aber auch die Einwohner setzten nun den Preußen offen und versteckten Widerstand entgegen. Die preußenfeindliche Stimmung, die den Vertretern des hannoverschen Adels und der Alt-Hannoveraner in der Klosterschule die größten Verfechter hatte, wirkte sich noch bis zum 1. Weltkrieg aus.

marcus-itesIlfeld liegt malerisch in einem der schönsten Täler des Südharzes auf ca. 260 m über NN. Umrahmt ist es von prächtigen Laub- und Nadelwäldern mit kristallklaren Bächen, die zum Wandern oder Radfahren einladen. Hierbei kann man jede Menge interessanter Sehenswürdigkeiten entdecken, so z.B. bizarre Felsgebilde wie den Gänseschnabel, alte Burgruinen oder das Schaubergwerk Rabensteiner Stollen.

Die Kirche wurde in den Jahren 1865-1868 auf Erlass von König Georg V. und Königin Marie an Stelle der abgerissenen St. Georgs-Fleckenkirche und der alten, 1223 der Jungfrau Maria geweihten, romanischen Klosterkirche errichtet. (Siehe auch Artikel vom Leben und Sterbe der alten Ilfelder)

Am 28. Dezember 1884 wird Amtshauptmann von Fumetti als erster Landrat des Kreises Ilfeld eingesetzt. Bernhard Julius von Fumetti war Polizeidirektor in Emden und wurde 1868 nach Ilfeld versetzt. Er starb als Geheimer Regierungsrat am 11. Juli 1907 in Hannover und fand in Ilfeld seine letzte Ruhestätte. In seiner Amtszeit ist die St. Georg – Marienkirche am 18.10.1868 übergeben worden und am 4. Juli 1884 fand die Einweihung der neuen Klosterschule statt.

Im 19. Jahrhundert ließen sich viele Handwerker, Fuhrunternehmer und Geschäftsleute in Ilfeld nieder, das von 1866-1932 Kreisstadt war. Der Kreis Ilfeld war der kleinste Kreis im Regierungsbezirk und zählte 16656 Einwohner. Mit der Machtübernahme Hitlers gab es auch Veränderungen in Ilfeld. Aus der Klosterschule wurde 1934 die Napola und der 2. Weltkrieg brachte 228 Bürgern den Tod. Insassen verschiedener Aussenlager des KZ Buchenwald mußten auch in Ilfeld Fronarbeit leisten.

 

Das Ilfelder Heimatmuseum Hier ging meine Familie zur Schule Im Hinterhof meiner Familie
Ein Blick in Richtung Garten Hier wurde mein Bruder geboren Viele Erinnerungen werden wach

Das milde Klima und die klare Luft sind dabei sehr günstig für die Atemwege. Ilfeld ist eine selbstständige Gemeinde im Landkreis Nordhausen, Freistaat Thüringen und befindet sich ca. 10 km nördlich von Nordhausen. Am besten erreicht man Ilfeld über Nordhausen, westl. über die B 243 aus Richtung Göttingen-Herzberg, südl. über die B 4 aus Richtung Sondershausen-Erfurt, östlich über die B80 aus Richtung Halle-Leipzig und nördl. über die B4 bzw. B81 aus den Richtungen Bad Harzburg Goslar bzw. Wernigerode-Magdeburg. Für den Wohlfühlurlaub in Ilfeld empfehle ich die 3-Sterne Ferienwohnungen bei Baar in der Burgstraße. Das ist ein idealer Ausgangspunkt für Ausflüge in den Harz und Kyffhäuser

Einwohnerbuch 1935Nach den Volkszählungen hatte Ilfeld 1823 600, im Jahre 1928 1874 und im Jahre 1930 1941 Einwohner. Die Einwohnerzahl stieg sprunghaft an, so zählte Ilfeld um 1996 bereits 2841 Einwohner.

In der Digitalen Bibliothek ist jede Menge Heimatliteratur hinterlegt, auch zur Ortschaft Ilfeld. Auskünfte zum Einwohnerbuch aus der Grafschaft Hohenstein von 1935 erteile ich auf Anfrage.

Die vollständige Liste an downloadbarer Heimatliteratur siehe hier:

 

Quellennachweis:

Ludwig Lüder, Ilfeld, ein Blick die die Geschichte des Fleckens, Verlag Neukirchner Nordhausen 2002

Manfred Bornemann, in Ilfeld 1940-1950, Beiträge zu einem Jahrzehnt Heimatgeschichte, Selbstverlag Hamburg 1984

Weblink:

Die Gemeinde Ilfeld und ihre umliegenden Gemeinden

 

 

 

Keine Kommentare möglich.