Digital Library, Cultural History

Scripture Atlas: a collection of the most important writing- and documents from ancient and modern

Byzantinische-Initialen-1

The font – the mediator of thought and word – is also the most important carrier of culture and science.

It is the spiritual bond, which brought in the most ancient times the great minds of their people in relation, to Johann Gutenberg, the invention of the printing font geristige the life of the Middle Ages lifted to new heights.

Purpose and mission of this magnificent work is thus, a rich selection of the most important fonts, Initials, Monogram, usw. to show. The work consists of 160 Boards, partly in lithographic color printing – just fantastic!

 

Those:

Ludwig Petzendorfer: Font Atlas : a collection of the most important writing- and documents from ancient and modern, together with initials, Monograms, Coat of arms, National colors and heraldic motifs for the practical purposes of the arts, Berlin: Published by Julius Hoffmann, 1898 (3. Edition)

Other literature:

Schardt, Alois (1889-1916) : The initial: Fantasy and character art of the early Middle Ages, with 106 Illustrations and 4 colored panels, Berlin: Rembrandt Verlag, 1938

Klinkhardt & Biermann: The Gothic fonts, Leipzig, 1928

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblr

Schriftenatlas: eine Sammlung der wichtigsten Schreib- und Druckschriften aus alter und neuer Zeit

Die Schrift – die Vermittlerin des Gedankens und des Wortes – ist zugleich die wichtigste Trägerin aller Kultur und Wissenschaft.

Sie ist das geistige Band, welches schon in den ältesten Zeiten die großen Geister mit ihren Völkern in Beziehung brachte, bis Johann Gutenberg durch die Erfindung der Druckschrift das geristige Leben des Mittelalters zu ungeahnten Höhen emporhob.

Zweck und Aufgabe des vorliegenden Prachtwerkes ist es daher, eine reichhaltige Auswahl der wichtigsten Schriftarten, Initialen, Monogramme, usw. zu zeigen. Das Werk besteht aus 160 Tafeln, zum Teil in lithographischem Farbendruck – einfach fantastisch!

 

Quelle:

Ludwig Petzendorfer: Schriften-Atlas : eine Sammlung der wichtigsten Schreib- und Druckschriften aus alter und neuer Zeit nebst Initialen, Monogrammen, Wappen, Landesfarben und heraldischen Motiven für die praktischen Zwecke des Kunstgewerbes, Berlin: Verlag von Julius Hoffmann, 1898 (3. Auflage)

Weitere Literatur:

Schardt, Alois (1889-1916) : Das Initial: Phantasie und Buchstabenmalerei des frühen Mittelalters, mit 106 Abbildungen und 4 farbigen Tafeln, Berlin: Rembrandt-Verlag, 1938

Klinkhardt & Biermann: Die gotischen Schriftarten, Leipzig, 1928

Keine Kommentare möglich.