News Ticker

Helene Duchess of Orleans, a Mecklenburg princess

The Hereditary Prince Frederick Louis (1778-1819) of Mecklenburg-Schwerin was married to his first marriage with Helena Pavlovna, a daughter of the Russian Emperor, who had fathered at not less loud ugliness beautiful children. This covenant only lasted a few years, as the beautiful Grand Duchess suffered from tuberculosis and passed away. To his second wife was the heir Princess Caroline Louise (1786-1816) chosen, a daughter of Grand Duke Carl August of Weimar. From this marriage was on the Prince 24. January 1814 a daughter born in Ludwigslust, it in memory of his 1. Wife, Helene was baptized in the name and by her marriage to the Crown Prince of France, the Duke of Orleans, drew the attention of the world to be.

When Helene was reaching its second birthday, starb ihre Mutter Caroline. The Grand Duke now to become father who had two children from two marriages ever saw one, that he had to hold strongly to a housewife out. His choice fell on Princess Augusta of Hesse-Homburg, the thus became the stepmother of Helene – a loyal, caring and loving mother. When the Grand Duke would have guessed it, he died soon after. Auguste now put all their skill and offered the children a sheltered and happy home and they cared for their best education. Helene's teacher was none other than Heinrich Schubert.

At the 30. More 1837 heiratete Helene Luise Prinzessin auf Château de Fontainebleau in Fontainebleau den Thronfolger Ferdinand Philippe d'Orléans, Duke of Chartres (1810–1842), eldest son of the last French king Louis Philippe and his wife Princess Maria Amalia of Naples and Sicily. From the couple's marriage two sons were born:

Louis Philippe Albert (1838–1894), comte de Paris ∞ 1864 Prinzessin Isabella Maria of Orleans-Montpensier (1848–1919)
Robert Philippe Louis Eugène Ferdinand (1840–1910), Duke of Chartres ∞ 1863 Prinzessin Françoise d'Orléans (1844–1925)

This very personal and detailed life story stands as Download available.

Those:

Brunier Ludwig: A Mecklenburg Furstentochter: (Helene, Herzogin von Orleans) with the portrait of the Duchess, Hinricus Fischer Verlag bookshop; North 1884

%d bloggers like this:

Helene Herzogin von Orleans eine mecklenburgische Fürstentochter

Der Erbprinz Friedrich Ludwig (1778-1819) von Mecklenburg-Schwerin war in erster Ehe mit Helena Paulowna verheiratet, einer Tochter jenes russischen Kaisers, der bei nicht geringer Häßlichkeit lauter schöne Kinder gezeugt hatte. Dieser Bund währte nur wenige Jahre, da die schöne Großfürstin an der Schwindsucht litt und dahinschied. Zu seiner zweiten Gemahlin hatte der Erbprinz Fürstin Caroline Luise (1786-1816) gewählt, eine Tochter des weimarischen Großherzogs Carl August. Aus dieser Ehe wurde dem Prinzen am 24. Januar 1814 eine Tochter in Ludwigslust geboren, die er in Erinnerung an seine 1. Gemahlin, auf den Namen Helene taufen ließ und die durch ihre Heirat mit dem Kronprinzen von Frankreich, dem Herzog von Orleans, die Blicke der Welt auf sich lenkte.

Als Helene gerade das zweite Lebensjahr erreichte, starb ihre Mutter Caroline. Der jetzt zum Großherzog gewordene Vater der aus beiden Ehen je zwei Kinder hatte sah ein, dass er dringend nach einer Hausfrau Ausschau halten musste. Seine Wahl fiel auf Prinzessin Auguste von Hessen-Homburg, die damit zur Stiefmutter für Helene wurde – eine treue, sorgsame und liebende Mutter. Als hätte der Großherzog es geahnt, starb er bald darauf. Auguste setzte nun ihr ganzes Geschick ein und bot den Kindern ein behütetes und glückliches Zuhause und sie sorgte für deren beste Erziehung. Helenes Lehrer wurde kein Geringerer als Heinrich Schubert.

Am 30. Mai 1837 heiratete Prinzessin Helene Luise auf Château de Fontainebleau in Fontainebleau den Thronfolger Ferdinand Philippe d’Orléans, duc de Chartres (1810–1842), ältester Sohn des letzten französischen Königs Louis Philippe und dessen Gattin Prinzessin Maria Amalia von Neapel-Sizilien. Aus der gemeinsamen Ehe gingen zwei Söhne hervor:

Louis Philippe Albert (1838–1894), comte de Paris ∞ 1864 Prinzessin Maria Isabella d’Orléans-Montpensier (1848–1919)
Robert Philippe Louis Eugène Ferdinand (1840–1910), duc de Chartres ∞ 1863 Prinzessin Françoise d’Orléans (1844–1925)

Diese sehr persönliche und ausführliche Lebensgeschichte steht als Download zur Verfügung.

Quelle:

Brunier Ludwig: Eine Mecklenburgische Furstentochter: (Helene, Herzogin von Orleans) mit dem Portrait der Herzogin, Hinricus Fischer Verlagsbuchhandlung; Norden 1884

Keine Kommentare möglich.