The Wittelsbach

Graf Otto V. was of Wittelsbach of Emperor Henry V. as its “Faithful and relative” for his service on the Rome trip invested with many imperial estates and entrusted with the dignity of Count Palatine – just the Reich Office – the once been owned by the family was. This was the first pledge for the regaining of the old power.

The eponymous son of Count Palatine Otto was the childhood friend of Duke Frederick of Swabia, the 1152 The prince raised to the German throne. Now when these as his ancestor Otto I. took over the torch in the plains of Lombardy, Otto accompanied his friend and master, the banners of the Empire. The Lombards of hatred against the imposed rule, rendered futile desperate resistance.

Even otherwise, Otto proved faithful friend and companion weapon of the Emperor. At the siege of Milan as the dispute with the Pope, in negotiations with the wily Greeks, or in the suppression of riots in the German lands, he made the most honorable service.

His brothers bravely led the sword, up to fourth brother Konrad. When it came to mediate between the Emperor and the Pope, this Wittelsbach brother proven as a patriot, and went to the success of a compensation. As thanks, he was elevated to Erzbischog of Salzburg…

Otto VI. Palatine of Bavaria, on the Frederick I. Barbarossa was awarded Italy trains, received after the deposition of Henry the Lion 1180 the Duchy of Bavaria, whereupon he now Duke Otto I. called von Wittelsbach. Ludwig I. of Kelheim was 1214 invested with the Rhine Palatinate. Through his 1204 marriage to Ludmilla, Widow of Count Albert III. went from bow, after the extinction of the line-bent ruler 1242, The county bow and their white-blue diamond crest of the Wittelsbach. His son Otto II. was 1212 as a 6-year-old with the Guelph Agnes, niece of Emperor Otto IV, Daughter of Count Henry Langen and thus heir to the Palatinate engaged. Probably by the later, certainly before 1224 closed wedding, came the golden lion on a black background as an emblem to Bavaria…(Online version of the BSB Munich)

Those:

Festschrift in honor of the seven hundred year anniversary of the Government House of Wittelsbach, Karl Theodor Heigel, Munich 1880

Comments are closed.

Die Wittelsbacher

Graf Otto V. von Wittelsbach wurde von Kaiser Heinrich V. als dessen “Getreuer und Verwandter” für seine Dienste auf der Rom Fahrt mit vielen Reichsgütern belehnt und mit der Würde eines Pfalzgrafen betraut – eben dem Reichsamt – das einst schon im Besitz der Familie war. Dies war die erste Bürgschaft für den Wiedergewinn der alten Macht.

Der gleichnamige Sohn des Pfalzgrafen Otto war der Jugendfreund des Herzogs Friedrich von Schwaben, den 1152 die Fürsten auf den deutschen Thron erhoben. Als nun dieser wie sein Vorfahre Otto I. über den Brenner in die lombardische Ebene zog, begleitete Otto den Freund und Gebieter als Bannerträger des Reichs. Die Lombarden voller Hass gegen die aufgezwungene Herrschaft, leisteten vergeblich verzweifelten Widerstand.

Auch sonst erwies sich Otto als treuer Freund und Waffengenosse des Kaisers. Bei der Belagerung Mailands wie im Streit mit dem Papst, bei Unterhandlungen mit den verschlagenen Griechen, oder bei der Unterdrückung von Unruhen in den deutschen Landen leistete er die rühmlichsten Dienste.

Auch seine Brüder führten tapfer das Schwert, bis auf den vierten Bruder Konrad. Als es zwischen Kaiser und Papst zu vermitteln galt, bewährte sich dieser Wittelsbacher Bruder als Patriot und machte sich an das Gelingen eines Ausgleichs. Als Dank wurde er zum Erzbischog von Salzburg erhoben…

Otto VI. Pfalzgraf von Bayern, der sich auf Friedrich I. Barbarossas Italienzügen ausgezeichnet hatte, erhielt nach der Absetzung Heinrichs des Löwen 1180 das Herzogtum Bayern, worauf er sich fortan Herzog Otto I. von Wittelsbach nannte. Ludwig I. der Kelheimer wurde 1214 mit der Pfalzgrafschaft bei Rhein belehnt. Durch seine 1204 geschlossene Ehe mit Ludmilla, Witwe des Grafen Albert III. von Bogen gingen, nach dem Erlöschen der Bogener Herrscherlinie 1242, die Grafschaft Bogen sowie deren weiß-blaues Rautenwappen an die Wittelsbacher. Sein Sohn Otto II. wurde 1212 als 6-Jähriger mit der Welfin Agnes, der Nichte Kaiser Ottos IV., Tochter des Pfalzgrafen Heinrichs des Langen und damit Erbin der Pfalz verlobt. Wohl durch die spätere, sicher noch vor 1224 geschlossene Hochzeit, kam der goldene Löwe auf schwarzem Grund als Wappentier nach Bayern…(Online-Version des BSB München)

Quelle:

Festschrift zur Feier des siebenhundertjährigen Regierungs-Jubiläums des Hauses Wittelsbach, von Karl Theodor Heigel, München 1880

Keine Kommentare möglich.