Digital Library, Cultural History

Geneva printer and publisher in the characters 15. to 17. Century

With books brands, Printer- and publisher characters or Signeten featured in earlier times printer or publisher of their works. The flowering of the Geneva printing is closely related with the Geneva Reformation movement and its literary life.

Wygang Koeln was the only printer in the Geneva Reformation, the very first quarter of the century (1521) worked there. He was, as the first two Geneva printer, Adam Steynschaber and Henri Wirczburg, native “Former France orientali” and described himself in his first works as Teutonicus. Paul Heitz with this 1908 published bibliographic special research leave a scientifically outstanding work.


The printer of the characters born in Leipzig and renowned typographer Johann Rambau for example, represented a ship at sea hochgehendem and it is located on the country a kneeling man praying, of an armature in front of them, Lightning and rain hit the ship, a hand from the clouds but, to read about what the name is Jehovah, holding a piece of paper with the words "salus tua ego sum"


Download:

Other literature:

The Basel books brands to the beginning of 17. Century, ed. Paul Heitz with preliminary remarks and news about the Basel printer of C. Chr. Bernoulli, Repertory for Art Research, 1895 (BAND, Page: 448)

The book marks or book printer- and publishing characters, Ed. Paul Heitz, Repertory for Art Research, 1893 (BAND 16, Page: 145)

The Zurich printer character to the beginning of 17. Century, Ed. Paul Heitz, Repertory for Art Research, 1896 (BAND 19, Page: 148)

The book marks or book printer- and publisher characters. – Alsatian books brands to early 18. Century. Ed. Paul Heitz, Central Journal of Librarianship, 1893 (BAND 10, Page: 353)

Genfer Buchdrucker und Verlegerzeichen im 15. bis 17. Jahrhundert

Mit Büchermarken, Buchdrucker- und Verlegerzeichen oder Signeten kennzeichneten in früheren Zeiten Drucker oder Verleger ihre Werke. Die Blüte des Genfer Buchdrucks steht in engem Zusammenhang mit der Genfer Reformationsbewegung und deren literarischen Leben.

Wygang Koeln war der einzige Buchdrucker der Genfer Reformation, der schon im ersten Viertel des Jahrhunderts (1521) dort arbeitete. Er war, wie die beiden ersten Genfer Drucker, Adam Steynschaber und Henri Wirczburg, gebürtig “ex Francia orientali” und bezeichnete sich in seinen ersten Arbeiten als Teutonicus. Paul Heitz hat mit dieser 1908 erschienenen bibliographischen Spezialforschung ein wissenschaftlich herausragendes Werk hinterlassen.


Das Druckerzeichen des in Leipzig geborenen und bekannten Buchdruckers Johann Rambau beispielsweise, stellte ein Schiff auf hochgehendem Meer dar und es befindet sich auf dem Land ein knieender betender Mann, der einen Anker vor sich liegen hat, Blitz und Regen treffen das Schiff, eine Hand aus den Wolken aber, über welcher der Name Jehova zu lesen ist, hält einen Zettel mit den Worten “salus tua ego sum”


Download:

Weitere Literatur:

Die Basler Büchermarken bis zum Anfang des 17. Jahrhunderts, hrsg. von Paul Heitz mit Vorbemerkungen und Nachrichten über die Basler Buchdrucker von C. Chr. Bernoulli, Repertorium für Kunstwissenschaft, 1895 (BAND, Seite: 448)

Die Büchermarken oder Buchdrucker- und Verlagszeichen, Hrsg. von Paul Heitz, Repertorium für Kunstwissenschaft, 1893 (BAND 16, Seite: 145)

Die Zürcher Druckerzeichen bis zum Anfang des 17. Jahrhunderts, Hrsg. Paul Heitz, Repertorium für Kunstwissenschaft, 1896 (BAND 19,  Seite: 148)

Die Büchermarken oder Buchdrucker- und Verlegerzeichen. – Elsässische Büchermarken bis Anfang des 18. Jahrhunderts. Hrsg. von Paul Heitz, Centralblatt für Bibliothekswesen, 1893 (BAND 10, Seite: 353)

Keine Kommentare möglich.